Skip to main content

John Tyndall Award

John Tyndall Award

OSA's John Tyndall Award for optics

Presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology, including optical fibers themselves, the optical components used in fiber systems, as well as transmission systems and networks using fibers. Contributions should have met the test of time and been of proven benefit to science, technology, or society. The contributions may be experimental or theoretical.

The award was established in 1987 to honor the memory of John Tyndall who made distinguished contributions to physics, particularly his demonstration of total internal reflection in a continuous stream of water. It is jointly presented by OSA and IEEE Photonics Society at the Optical Fiber Communication Conference (OFC), and is funded by Corning, Incorporated.



2021 - Michal Lipson [Citation]

In recognition of her fundamental and technological advances in integrated photonic devices

2020 - Roel G. F Baets [Citation]

For seminal research in silicon photonics and for driving the foundry model in this field

2019 - Kim Roberts [Citation]

For pioneering contributions to the development of practical coherent communication systems

2018 - Peter J Winzer [Citation]

For contributions to understanding and advancing the capacity of coherent optical communication systems including advanced modulation formats and spatial multiplexing

2017 - Evgeny M Dianov [Citation]

For pioneering leadership in optical fiber development and outstanding contributions to nonlinear fiber optics and optical fiber amplifiers

2016 - Alan H Gnauck [Citation]

For sustained pioneering research contributions that drove commercialization of high-speed, high-capacity lightwave communication systems

2015 - P. Daniel Dapkus [Citation]

For pioneering and sustained contributions to the development of metal organic chemical vapor deposition and high performance quantum well semiconductor lasers

2014 - Kazuro Kikuchi [Citation]

For pioneering contributions to the fundamental understanding of coherent detection techniques

2013 - James J Coleman [Citation]

For contributions to semiconductor lasers and photonic materials, processing and device designs, including high reliability strained-layer lasers

2012 - John E Bowers [Citation]

For pioneering research in hybrid-silicon lasers and photonic integrated circuits

2011 - David F Welch [Citation]

For seminal contributions to photonic ICs and semiconductor lasers deployed in fiber optic communication systems around the world

2010 - C. Randy Giles [Citation]

For seminal contributions to advanced lightwave communications networks including erbium-doped fiber amplifiers, fiber Bragg grating-based subsystems, and MEMs crossconnects

2009 - Joe Charles Campbell [Citation]

For seminal contributions to the understanding, design and telecommunication systems implementation of avalanche photodiodes

2008 - Robert Tkach [Citation]

For pioneering breakthroughs in high-capacity transmission systems and networks, including the invention of NZDF (non-zero dispersion fiber) and dispersion management of optical fiber nonlinearities

2007 - Emmanuel Desurvire [Citation]

For pioneering contributions to the physical and theoretical understanding of Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers and to their early development

2006 - Donald Ray Scifres [Citation]

For seminal contributions to semiconductor laser diode technology that power the optical fiber networks and as an entrepreneur in creating one of the premier companies that bring to practice the semiconductor diode laser technology to serve the fiber optics industry

2005 - Roger H Stolen [Citation]

For fundamental contributions to the understanding of optical fiber nonlinearities, including the identification and understanding of stimulated Raman scattering in fibers

2004 - Larry A Coldren [Citation]

For contributions to semiconductor laser diode technology, including widely tunable DBR lasers and vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers

2003 - Andrew R Chraplyvy [Citation]

For pioneering research on optical fiber nonlinearities and their dispersion management, and leading WDM fiber transmission systems beyond Tbit/s capacities

2002 - Neal S Bergano [Citation]

For outstanding technical contributions and leadership in the advancement of global undersea fiber-optic communication systems

2001 - Tatsuo Izawa [Citation]

For contributions to vapor-phase axial deposition for optical-fiber fabrication and pioneer work on silica-based planar lightwave circuits

2000 - Stewart D Personick [Citation]

For his pioneering research in optical receiver design, system engineering, and optical time domain reflectometry, and for leadership in education and the promotion of fiber optics

1999 - John B MacChesney [Citation]

For the invention and development of the MCVD process, which is one of the major techniques for the manufacture of low loss optical fibers and for high purity overcladding tubes using sol-gel techniques

1998 - Kenichi Iga [Citation]

For pioneering contributions in the development of surface emitting lasers and planar microlens arrays for parallel optoelectronics

1997 - Ivan P Kaminow [Citation]

For contributions to lightwave device technology involving high-speed modulation, integrated optics, semiconductor lasers, polarization effects in fiber, and WDM components, and to optical FDM networks

1996 - Kenneth O Hill [Citation]

For the discovery of photosensitivity in optical fibers and its application to Bragg gratings used in device applications in optical communications and sensor systems

1995 - Tingye Li [Citation]

For sustained advances in high-capacity optical fiber communication systems created by his pioneering research, leadership, and personal contributions over more than two decades

1994 - Elias Snitzer [Citation]

For pioneering contributions to optical propagation in fiber and rare-earth doped lasers and amplifiers

1993 - Yasuharu Suematsu [Citation]

For contributions to wideband optical fiber communication through his dynamic single-mode lasers and semiconductor-based integrated optics

1992 - Donald B Keck [Citation]

For the invention and development of methods for manufacture and measurement of devices for optical communication, including low attenuation fibers

1991 - David Neil Payne [Citation]

For outstanding contributions to the design, measurement, and fabrication of optical fibers and active fiber devices

1990 - Thomas G Giallorenzi [Citation]

For significant technical, management, and professional contributions to the development and applications of fiber optics and optical fiber sensor technology

1989 - Stewart Edward Miller [Citation]

For foresight, dedication, technical contributions and pioneering leadership in building the broad foundations for today's fiber optic telecommunications systems

1988 - Michael K Barnoski [Citation]

In recognition of his invention of devices and instruments fundamental to fiber optic technology, and the leadership that he has exerted both in professional societies and in industry in advancing optical communication technology

1987 - Robert D Maurer [Citation]

For contributions to the discovery and understanding of materials and techniques for the fabrication of glass fiber waveguides for optical communication

Michal Lipson