Skip to main content



OSA mourns the passing of these distinguished colleagues.

Evgeny M. Dianov, 1937-2019

January 30, 2019

Evgeny M. Dianov, OSA Fellow and 2017 recipient of the John Tyndall Award, passed away on 30 January 2019. Dianov was known as a pioneer in nonlinear fiber optics and optical fiber amplifiers. Dianov was a Professor with the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Russian Federation, and an active member of the optics community. He was elected an OSA Fellow in 1991.Dianov graduated from Moscow State...

Jon Torger Hougen, 1936-2019

January 28, 2019

Jon Hougen, OSA Fellow and recipient of the Ellis R. Lippincott Award, passed away on 28 January 2019 at the age of 82. Hougen’s research interests were in quantum mechanical and group theoretical calculations of quantities of molecular spectroscopic interest for various cases of interaction between rotational, vibrational, and electronic motion, with particular emphasis on rotational ene...

Joseph W. Haus, 1948-2019

January 11, 2019

Joseph Haus, OSA Fellow and active member volunteer, has passed away at the age of 70. Haus was known for his work in quantum and nonlinear optics phenomena in heterogeneous systems, especially propagation in photonic crystals and optical metamaterials. He was elected an OSA Fellow in 1998 for furthering the understanding of quantum noise and propagation in superfluorescence and stimulated Rama...

Roy J. Glauber, 1925-2018

December 26, 2018

Roy J. Glauber, Nobel Laureate and OSA Honorary Member, has passed away at the age of 93.  Glauber was awarded one-half of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics “for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence.”  The other half of the prize was presented to John L. Hall and Theodore W. Hänsch.  Glauber’s prize winning work centered on his development o...

Boris Zeldovich, 1944-2018

December 16, 2018

Boris Zeldovich, OSA Fellow and 1997 Max Born Award recipient, passed away at the age of 74. Zeldovich was known for his significant contributions to the nonlinear optics community, specifically in the areas of phase conjugation and giant nonlinearities in liquid crystals. His pioneering work has had a lasting impact in the field and his passion for teaching has inspired students at UCF CREOL f...

Allan D. Boardman

November 24, 2018

Allan Boardman, OSA Fellow and Emeritus member, passed away on 24 November 2018. Boardman was elected an OSA Fellow in 2006 for seminal contributions to nonlinear wave phenomena including surface polaritons, nonlinear guided waves, solitons and magneto-optics, and exemplary leadership and service to the optics community.Boardman was a Professorial Research Fellow at the School of Computing, Sci...

Theodor Tamir, 1927-2018

November 22, 2018

Theodor Tamir, OSA Fellow and Professor Emeritus at New York University Tandon School of Engineering, passed away at the age of 91. Tamir was known as an effective and committed administrator and for his mathematical studies of electromagnetic wave propagation in layered and periodic media.  Tamir was born in Romania and during World War II, he emigrated to Israel and settled in Jerusalem,...

Walter F. Buell

November 02, 2018

Walter “Wally” Buell, OSA Fellow, active volunteer and life member, has passed away. Buell was a recognized leader in the national security and aerospace community. He had been the Principal Director of the Electronics and Photonics Laboratory at the Aerospace Corporation. Buell recently completed his term as Co-Chair of the Applications of Lasers for Sensing and Free Space Communic...

Berthold Leibinger, 1930-2018

October 16, 2018

Berthold Leibinger, former CEO of TRUMPF, passed away on 16 October 2018 at the age of 87. Leibinger served as the managing director of TRUMF for 40 years and under his leadership, the company become one of the world’s leading machine manufacturers. Leibinger was recognized as a pioneer in the field of industrial laser development and application.Leibinger served as an apprentice both in ...

Charles Kao, 1933-2018

September 23, 2018

Charles Kao, OSA member and Nobel Prize recipient (2009) in Physics, passed away on 23 September 2018 at the age of 84. Kao, whose seminal work on fiber optics laid the groundwork for the development of modern communications, was awarded the Nobel Prize for “groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication.”  Kao shared the 20...