Skip to main content

29 April 2020

Two OSA Fellows Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

WASHINGTON – Two Fellows of The Optical Society (OSA) have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in recognition of their contributions to physics and engineering sciences and technologies. They are among 276 new members, including scientists, scholars, artists and leaders in the public, non-profit and private sectors.

Pictured left: Michal Lipson and pictured right: Teri Odom

The OSA Fellows elected to the American Academy of Arts and Science this year are:

  • Michal Lipson is the Eugene Higgins Professor at Columbia University. She completed her B.S., MS and Ph.D. degrees in Physics in the Technion in 1998. Following a Postdoctoral position in MIT in the Material Science department from 1998 to 2001, she joined the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell University and was named the Given Foundation Professor of Engineering at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2012. In 2015, she joined the electrical engineering department at Columbia University. Lipson, one of the pioneers of the field of silicon photonics, received The Optical Society’s R. W. Wood prize in 2016.
  • Teri Odom is the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, Associate Chair of the Chemistry Department, professor of materials science and engineering and associate director of the International Institute of Nanotechnology (IIN) at Northwestern University. She is an expert in designing structured nanoscale materials that exhibit extraordinary size and shape-dependent optical properties. Odom received her B.S. in chemistry from Stanford University, and her Ph.D. in chemical physics from Harvard University under the guidance of Charles M. Lieber. She conducted post-doctoral research at Harvard with George M. Whitesides before joining the faculty at Northwestern University. Odom is also an OSA Senior Member.

According to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, “current Academy members represent today’s innovative thinkers in every field and profession, including more than two hundred and fifty Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.”

For a complete list of this year’s members and fellows of the Academy, visit the American Academy of Arts and Sciences website.

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit

Media Contact