19 February 2020

The Optical Society Names Mitsuo Takeda the 2020 Emmett N. Leith Medal Recipient

Honoree recognized for seminal work on coherence holography and invention of Fourier fringe analysis

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to name Mitsuo Takeda, Utsunomiya University, Japan, the 2020 Emmett N. Leith Medal recipient. Takeda is recognized for contributions to the fields of optical information processing and holography through the inventions of Fourier fringe analysis and coherence holography.

“The Emmett N. Leith Medal honors the innovative work of Mitsuo Takeda in optical science,” said 2020 OSA President Stephen D. Fantone, founder and president of the Optikos Corporation. “Through his inventions and techniques, Mituso has significantly advanced the fields of optical information processing and holography.”

Mitsuo Takeda received a BE in Electrical Engineering from University of Electro-Communications (UEC), Tokyo, Japan, and a ME and Ph.D. in Applied Physics from the University of Tokyo, Japan. He is Professor of CORE at Utsunomiya University, and Professor Emeritus of the University of Electro-Communications (UEC), Tokyo. He has been a visiting scholar at Stanford University, USA and a Humboldt Guest Professor at ITO, Stuttgart University, Germany. Prior to joining the faculty of UEC in 1977, he worked for Canon Inc. He is an OSA Fellow.

He is the inventor of the Fourier-transform method for fringe analysis (also known as Fourier fringe analysis), which is used widely in optical metrology. Its applications expand beyond traditional optical interferometry and profilometry, to the measurement of extreme physical phenomena that involve ultrashort optical pulses, extremely small atomic displacement, and unconventional interferometry with electron wave, X-ray and EUV sources. He has also conduced seminal work on coherence holography for coherence synthesis and unconventional imaging.

Established in 2006, the Emmett N. Leith Medal recognizes seminal contributions to the field of optical information processing, including (but not limited to), sensing and analog signal processing as well as computing (classical and quantum) and optical storage. It honors Emmett N. Leith, a world-renowned scientist in holography and optical information processing, and is endowed by General Dynamics, the University of Michigan College of Engineering, U.S.A., Physical Optics Corporation and individual contributors, including Alexander Sawchuk, Joseph Goodman, James R. Fienup, G. Michael Morris, Tom Cathey and James Wyant.

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.

Media Contact