Skip to main content

10 December 2020

Notable Members of The Optical Society Inducted as 2020 Fellows of The National Academy of Inventors

Recognition bestowed upon academic inventors whose innovations greatly benefit society

WASHINGTON – Sixteen Members of The Optical Society (OSA) will be inducted into the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), a professional association comprised of over 4,000 members and Fellows whose inventions impact “quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.”

“Being elected an NAI Fellow is an incredible honor befitting the achievements and leadership of those in our field,” said OSA CEO Elizabeth Rogan. “We congratulate the OSA members who were chosen for this well-deserved recognition.”

NAI is a member organization inclusive of global universities, governmental and non-profit research institutes. The NAI Fellow program has over 1,000 Fellows worldwide who collectively hold more than 38,000 issued U.S. patents which have garnered over 13,000 licensed technologies and 2,300 companies, according to NAI.

The 2020 Class of NAI Fellows includes:

OSA Members:

Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, USA

Ramalingam Chellappa, Johns Hopkins University, USA

Gary Evans, Southern Methodist University, USA

Bahram Jalali, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Henry Kapteyn, University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Hoi-Sing Kwok, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, HK

Michael Lebby, Glyndwr University in Wales, UK

Xiuling Li, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA  

Richard Miles, Texas A&M University, USA

Margaret Murnane, University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Robert A. Norwood, The University of Arizona, USA

Martin Richardson, University of Central Florida, USA

Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, USA

Szymon Suckewer, Princeton University, USA

Lihong Wang, California Institute of Technology, USA

Changhuei Yang, California Institute of Technology, USA

The 2020 NAI Fellows will be inducted 8 June 2021, as part of the Tenth NAI Annual Meeting in Tampa, FL, USA.

About The Optical Society

The Optical Society (OSA) is dedicated to promoting the generation, application, archiving, and dissemination of knowledge in optics and photonics worldwide. Founded in 1916, it is the leading organization for scientists, engineers, business professionals, students, and others interested in the science of light. OSA’s renowned publications, meetings, online resources, and in-person activities fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate scientific, technical, and educational achievement.

Media Contact