4 December 2019

Fifteen OSA Members Named 2019 Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Honor among highest professional distinctions accorded solely to academic inventors

WASHINGTON—Fifteen members of The Optical Society (OSA) will join the ranks of the National Academy of Inventors, a professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

Thirteen of the newly elected NAI Fellows are OSA Fellows, among them two are Senior Members. One is an OSA Emeritus Member. OSA Fellows are the Society’s highest-ranking members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics.

“These OSA members have distinguished themselves in their roles as innovators and inventors,” said OSA CEO Elizabeth Rogan. “We congratulate them for being selected for this prestigious recognition.”

The National Academy of Inventors is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide.

The 2019 Class of NAI Fellows includes:

  • Susan D. Allen, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (OSA Emeritus Member)
  • Andrea Alu, City University of New York Advanced Science Research Center, Photonics Initiative (OSA Fellow and OSA Senior Member)
  • Stephen A. Boppart, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (OSA Fellow 2009)
  • David Grier, New York University (OSA Member)
  • Hong Hua, University of Arizona (OSA Fellow and OSA Senior Member)
  • Fred J. Leonberger, University of South Florida (OSA Fellow)
  • Jingyu Lin, Texas Tech University (OSA Fellow)
  • Fiorenzo Omenetto, Tufts University (OSA Fellow)
  • Boon S. Ooi, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (OSA Fellow)
  • Keith D. Paulsen, Dartmouth College (OSA Fellow)
  • Holger Schmidt, University of California, Santa Cruz (OSA Fellow)
  • Lakshman Tamil, The University of Texas at Dallas (OSA Fellow)
  • Ge Wang, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (OSA Fellow)
  • Chee Wei Wong, University of California, Los Angeles (OSA Fellow)
  • Xin Zhang, Boston University (OSA Fellow)

The 2019 NAI Fellows will be inducted 10 April 2020 as part of the Ninth Annual Meeting of the NAI in Phoenix, Arizona. Laura A. Peter, Deputy Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Deputy Director at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, will deliver the keynote address for the induction. Fellows will receive a special trophy, medal and rosette pin.

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.

Media Contact