25 July 2018

The Optical Society and Optical Society of Korea Name the 2018 Sang Soo Lee Award Recipient

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) and the Optical Society of Korea (OSK) are pleased to name Cheng-Chung Lee, National Central University, Taiwan, the 2018 Sang Soo Lee Award recipient. Lee is recognized for guiding, educating, developing and inspiring the optical coating industry in Taiwan for more than 30 years and serving as a key figure in its growth and success.
This year marks the fifth anniversary of the Sang Soo Lee Award, which was established jointly by OSA and OSK to honor Prof. Sang Soo Lee for his pioneering role in establishing optics in the Republic of Korea as well as founding the Optical Society of Korea.
The award recognizes outstanding leadership in founding or growing an optics and photonics community in a specific population, anywhere in the world. It honors individuals who played a key role in a specific region, through research and/or education in optics or photonics, introduction of a new field in optics or photonics, or initiation of an optics and photonics industry. 
Cheng-Chung Lee received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Arizona College of Optical Sciences, USA, in 1983. He is a Fellow of OSA and SPIE. Dr. Lee returned to Taiwan at a time when the thin-film industry was quite undeveloped. With his experiences and endeavors, he helped transform the industry into a viable sector that is able to support today’s impressive advances in optics and optoelectronics. His research interests are concentrated in thin film optics, coating processes and interferometry.
Lee has raised funds for a new building, founded the Department of Optics and Photonics and Thin Film Technology Center, served as Dean of the College of Science at National Central University and mentored more than 230 Masters and Ph.D. students. He also served as president of the Taiwan Photonics Society and the Taiwan Vacuum Society.
“Dr. Lee is most deserving of this award in that he has devoted most of his scientific career to aiding development of Taiwan’s successful thin-film industry--including educating the next generation of scientists who will carry his pioneering efforts further still,” says Award Selection Committee Chair and OSK President-elect, Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea.
“Much of the growth in Taiwan’s optical coating industry can be attributed to Dr. Lee’s efforts,” notes Ursula Gibson, OSA President-elect and professor with the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway. “Through his work, Dr. Lee has established new opportunities for current and future generations. His legacy and impact will continue long into the future. It is a special pleasure to see Cheng-Chung honored, as he has been a valued colleague since our time at the University of Arizona.” 
About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.

About the Optical Society of Korea
Founded in 1989, the Optical Society of Korea is the leading academic society in the field of optics and photonics in Korea. OSK provides academic activities including domestic and international optics conferences, tutorials, seminars, workshops, and publishing services including journals, technical digests, monographs, and technical bulletins. For more information, visit osk.kr.
Media Contacts