14 September 2017

OSA Publishing Recognizes and Congratulates Outstanding Reviewers

WASHINGTON — In support of Peer Review Week 2017, an industry-wide celebration of the essential role that peer review plays in maintaining scientific quality, OSA recognizes and thanks its 2017 class of Outstanding Reviewers.  This distinguished group of 25 members of the optics and photonics community was selected based on their commitment to providing a high level of technical expertise and constructive criticism in the peer-review process. Established in 2012, the OSA Outstanding Reviewers recognition is given annually to commend the top reviewers for their exceptional peer-review efforts over the past year. Recipients are nominated by Topical and Associate Editors of OSA Journals from among 14,000 active reviewers and then carefully selected by OSA’s Board of Editors.

“The peer-review process and the members of our community who support it play a pivotal role in the scientific publishing eco-system, and in particular, in ensuring that OSA consistently publishes high quality content in our journals,” said Elizabeth Nolan, Deputy Executive Director of The Optical Society and Chief Publishing Officer. “The Outstanding Reviewer program is one way that OSA is able to express its appreciation to those who have worked so conscientiously and tirelessly on behalf of our journals.  OSA congratulates the 2017 class of Outstanding Reviewers for their well-deserved recognition and thanks the thousands of other volunteers worldwide who continuously participate in our rigorous peer-review process.”
The 2017 Outstanding Reviewers are:
Yangjian Cai, Soochow University, China
Di Che, University of Melbourne, Australia
Konstantinos Christodoulopoulos, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Nicolas Dupuis, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Antoine Godard, ONERA—The French Aerospace Lab, France
Ali Hariri, Wayne State University, USA
Rigoberto Juarez-Salazar, Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Mexico
Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea
Ricardo Legarda-Saenz, Universidad Autonoma de Yucatan, Mexico
Pavel Loiko, ITMO University, Russia
Joris Lousteau, ORC, University of Southampton, UK
Apratim Majumder, University of Utah, USA
Giovanni Milione, NEC Laboratories America Inc, USA
Aldo Minardo, Seconda Universita degli Studi di Napoli, Italy
Andrey Miroshnichenko, Australian National University, Australia
Amy Oldenburg, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Sahin Ozdemir, Washington University in St Louis, USA
Luca Schenato, National Research Council of Italy, Italy
Kartik Srinivasan, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
Stefan Wabnitz, Università degli Studi di Brescia, Italy
Robert Woodward, Macquarie University, Australia
Logan Wright, Cornell University, USA
Han Zhang, Shenzhen University, China
Pu Zhou, National University of Defense Technology, China
Chao Zhou, Lehigh University, USA
About OSA Publishing
OSA Publishing’s Digital Library offers the largest collection of peer-reviewed content in optics and photonics. This cutting-edge repository includes content from OSA’s prestigious journals and co-publications. Our journal content offers the highest number of article citations (40%) than any other publisher in the Optics category of the 2016 Journal Citation Report® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017). With more than 343,000 journal articles and conference proceedings from 670 conferences, OSA Publishing covers a breadth of disciplines.
About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.
Media Contacts: