The Optical Society Congratulates 15 Members Elected as 2015 National Academy of Inventors Fellows

22 December 2015

The Optical Society Congratulates 15 Members Elected as 2015 National Academy of Inventors Fellows

WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) elected 15 OSA members to its 2015 NAI Fellows on 15 December 2015.  The award recognizes innovators that have made positive contributions to the world and U.S. economy and includes: 27 Nobel laureates, 27 inductees to the National Inventors Hall of Fame and 32 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation and U.S. National Medal of Science.

The NAI described the election as “a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.”

The newly elected fellows will join 153 other scientific luminaries to be recognized at a formal induction on 15 April 2016 at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office in Alexandria, Virginia, USA.

2015 Elected NAI Fellows


Dr. John M. Ballato
Clemson University, South Carolina, USA

Dr. John E. Bowers
University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Dr. Steven R.J. Brueck
The University of New Mexico, USA

Dr. Joe Charles Campbell
University of Virginia, USA

Dr. Paul D. Dapkus
University of Southern California, USA

Dr. Nader Engheta
University of Pennsylvania, USA

Sir Andre K. Geim
The University of Manchester, UK

Dr. Naomi J. Halas
Rice University, Texas, USA
Dr. Chennupati Jagadish
The Australian National University, Australia

Dr. Kristina M. Johnson
University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Dr. Guifang Li
University of Central Florida, USA

Dr. Richard M. Osgood, Jr.
Columbia University, USA

Dr. Marlan O. Scully
Texas A&M University, USA

Dr. Richard A. Soref
University of Massachusetts Boston, USA

Dr. James C. Wyant
The University of Arizona, USA


* To view full list of 2015 NAI Fellows visit: The National Academy of Inventors.

About The National Academy of Inventors  
The National Academy of Inventors is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 3,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 200 institutions, and growing rapidly. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. The NAI offices are located in the University of South Florida Research Park.  The NAI edits the multidisciplinary journal, Technology and Innovation, published by Cognizant Communication Corporation (NY). For more information, visit
About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. OSA is a founding partner of the National Photonics Initiative and the International Year of Light. For more information, visit
Media Contacts: