OSA Recognizes Member Accomplishments with New Class of Senior Members


Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

OSA Recognizes Member Accomplishments with New Class of Senior Members

SAN JOSE, Calif., June 13, 2014–The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors approved more than 60 new Senior Members this week at CLEO: 2014. The OSA Senior Member distinction provides well-established individual members with the opportunity to request a designation that recognizes their experience and professional accomplishments or service within optics and photonics. A listing of the newly inducted OSA Senior Members appears below.

To qualify for senior membership, individuals must have at least 10 years of significant professional experience in their field, an active OSA Membership and two endorsement statements from current OSA Members. Requests are reviewed by the OSA Member and Education Services Council, which then recommends candidates to the OSA Board of Directors for approval.

In addition to receiving OSA Member benefits, Senior Member designees receive:

  • Special acknowledgements –Senior Members are identified in the OSA Member Directory, on OSA.org and during OSA-hosted events.
  • Announcements – Newly approved Senior Members are announced in Optics & Photonics News, the OSA Member e-newsletter and other promotional materials.
  • OSA Senior Member certificate and lapel pin – Distributed upon OSA Board approval.
  • Letter of recognition – Approved Senior Members may elect to have a confirmation letter sent to their employer.

Additional information about qualifications and requirements is available at: www.osa.org/seniormember.

Following is an alphabetical listing of the 63 OSA Senior Members announced at CLEO: 2014:

  • M. Sebaweh, Abdalla,  King Saud University, Saudi Arabia
  • M. Nurul  Abedin, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
  • Arti Agrawal, City University, UK
  • Peter Balling, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Yahya Baykal, Cankaya Universitesi, Turkey
  • Stephen Bialkowski, Utah State University, USA
  • Sandra Biedron, Colorado State University, USA
  • Kadri Bilikmen, Orta Dogu Teknik Universitesi, Turkey
  • Martin Booth, University of Oxford, UK
  • Gabriella Bosco, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Mark Bowers, Lockheed Martin Aculight, USA
  • Joaquin Campos-Acosta, Consejo Superior Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain
  • James Caron, Research Support Instruments, Inc., USA
  • Adrian Carter, Nufern International, Inc., Australia
  • Lung-Chien Chen, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan
  • Donald  Davis, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Volkmar Dierolf, Lehigh University, USA
  • Walter Duncan, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
  • Hergen  Eilers, Washington State University, USA
  • John Fini, OFS Laboratories, USA
  • Isaia Glaser, Holon Academic Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Nitin Goel, Infinera India Pvt Ltd  , India
  • Shekhar Guha, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
  • John Heaton, JDSU, USA
  • Amr Helmy, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Mani Hossein-Zadeh, University of New Mexico, USA
  • Amit Itagi, TSI, USA
  • Mona Jarrahi, University of California Los Angeles, USA
  • Serge Kalmykov, University of Nebraska Lincoln, USA
  • Eung Soo Kim, Pusan University of Foreign Studies, South Korea
  • Jungsang Kim, Duke University, USA
  • Tetsuro Komukai, Nippon Telegraph & Telephone Corp.,   Japan
  • Matthew Kupinski, University of Arizona, USA
  • Kin Seng Lai, DSO National Laboratories, Singapore
  • Cedric Lam, Google, USA
  • Zhi Liao, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Paul Lightsey, Ball Aerospace & Technologies, USA
  • Dejiao Lin, SPI Lasers UK Ltd., UK
  • Huei-Yung Lin, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
  • Arash Mafi, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee, USA
  • N. Asger Mortensen, DTU Fotonik, Denmark
  • Reza Mosavi, Ethicon, Inc., USA
  • Sergei Popov, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Nadia Rafat, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Forrest  Reynard, Reynard Corporation, USA
  • Stephen Rolt, University of Durham, UK
  • Allen Rose, Alstom Grid, Inc., USA
  • Yoichi Sato, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan
  • Frank Schellenberg, USA
  • Vitor Schneider, Corning Incorporated, USA
  • Daniel Senft, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
  • Ali Serpenguzel, Koc University, Turkey
  • Satoru Shoji, Osaka University, Japan
  • Yakov Soskind, DHPC Technologies, USA
  • Aasmund Sudbo, Universitetet i Oslo, Norway
  • Alan Symmons, LightPath Technologies, Inc., USA
  • Samuel  Thurman, Lockheed Martin Coherent Technologies, USA
  • Joseph Touch, USC / Information Sciences Institute, USA
  • Keiji Uchikawa, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Tom Vandervelde, Tufts University, USA
  • Philip Varghese, The University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Dongning Wang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Charles  Yu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Lincoln Lab, USA

About OSA

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional society for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-world applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership programs, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of professionals in optics and photonics. For more information, visit www.osa.org.