OSA Foundation Presents Awards and Travel Grants to Students for CLEO: 2013

Lyndsay Meyer
CLEO: 2013

OSA Foundation Presents Awards and Travel Grants to Students for CLEO: 2013

WASHINGTON, June 12, 2013— The OSA Foundation this week announced the recipients of its student awards and travel grants related to the Conference on Lasers and Electro Optics (CLEO: 2013), taking place this week at the San Jose Convention Center in San Jose, Calif.  Gary Shambat of Stanford University, USA was selected as the winner of the annual Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition, an OSA Foundation program supported by HRL Laboratories LLC, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science that recognizes outstanding student research presented at CLEO each year.  Meanwhile, 10 students received travel grants to attend CLEO: 2013 as recipients of the Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants.
Maiman Competition
Shambat won for his paper “Single-cell photonic nanocavity probes.” The grand prize and two honorable mentions were presented yesterday during the plenary and awards ceremony at CLEO: 2013. Shambat was one of three finalists selected from more than 772 submissions. All submissions were reviewed and scored by the CLEO: 2013 technical program committee, who selected 26 semi-finalists. Three finalists were selected by the CLEO: 2013 program and general co-chairs and presented their research in a private session yesterday. The presentations were judged based on innovation, research excellence and presentation ability.
Honorable mentions went to: 
  • Jeffrey Demas, Boston University, USA
    Paper: Two Octaves of Frequency Generation by Cascaded Intermodal Nonlinear Mixing in Solid Optical Fiber 
  • Peter Krogen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
    Paper: Octave-spanning Coherent Mid-IR Generation via a Single Adiabatically Chirped Grating
Shambat will receive $3,000. Demas and Krogen will each receive a certificate.
The Maiman Student Paper Competition honors American physicist Theodore Maiman for his invention of the first working laser, and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics. It recognizes student innovation and research excellence in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics. The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories LLC, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by the OSA Foundation.
Travel Grants
The OSA Foundation awarded Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants to 10 recipients from four countries who presented research papers this week at CLEO: 2013.
The Incubic/Milton Chang Travel Grant recipients are:
  • Megan Ivory, College of William & Mary, USA
  • Kumel Kagalwala, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Yufei Ma, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • Himansu Pattanaik, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Ralph Peterson, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  • Hongxia Qi, Peking University, China
  • Jun Suk Rho, University of California Berkeley, USA
  • Shibdas Roy, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Yuzhe Xiao, University of Rochester, USA
  • Min-Seok Yoon, Hanyang University, Republic of Korea
The Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants, endowed by Milton and Rosalind Chang, annually provide 10 grants of $500 to enable students to present at CLEO, as well as 10 grants for OSA’s annual meeting, Frontiers in Optics . Grant applications are reviewed by the Awards & Grants Subcommittee of OSA’s Membership and Education Services Council. Students’ paper submissions, financial need and letters of recommendation are all carefully reviewed during the selection process.

Funding and Sponsorship

Funding for the Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition and Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants are supported through donations from generous individuals and organizations. Contributions help provide important student travel grants and achievement awards as well as offset general programming costs. Donations to the Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition and Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants are accepted on the OSA Foundation website.

About the OSA Foundation

The OSA Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit foundation established by the Optical Society (OSA) in 2002 to carry out charitable activities that support OSA’s mission of promoting the generation, application, archiving and worldwide dissemination of knowledge in optics and photonics. The Foundation helps cultivate the next generation of leaders and innovators in the optics and photonics community as they move through advanced degree programs and become active members of research and engineering communities around the globe. The Foundation also works to secure OSA Awards and Honors program endowments. To date, the Foundation has awarded more than 800 grants, scholarships, and prizes benefiting thousands of individuals in more than 55 countries. Donations to the OSA Foundation are matched dollar-for-dollar by OSA. For more information, visit www.osa.org/foundation.

About CLEO

With a distinguished history as the industry's leading event on laser science, the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) is where laser technology was first introduced. CLEO unites the field of lasers and electro-optics by bringing together all aspects of laser technology, with content stemming from basic research to industry application. CLEO: Expo showcases the latest products and applications from more than 300 participating companies from around the world, providing hands-on demonstrations of the latest market innovations and applications. The Expo also offers valuable on-floor programming, including Market Focus and the Technology Transfer program.
Sponsored by the American Physical Society's (APS) Laser Science Division, the IEEE Photonics Society and the Optical Society (OSA), CLEO provides the full range of critical developments in the field, showcasing the most significant milestones from laboratory to marketplace. With an unparalleled breadth and depth of coverage, CLEO connects all of the critical vertical markets in lasers and electro-optics. For more information, visit the conference's website at www.cleoconference.org. CLEO: 2013 takes place June 9 – 14 at the San Jose Convention Center.