OSA Elects Philip H. Bucksbaum as 2012 Vice President


Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

OSA Elects Philip H. Bucksbaum as 2012 Vice President

Bucksbaum to serve as OSA president in 2014; Three directors at large also elected

BucksbaumSAN JOSE, Calif., Oct. 18—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to announce that its members have elected Philip H. Bucksbaum of Stanford University as its 2012 vice president. Three directors at large were also chosen during this year's election: James D. Kafka of Spectra-Physics, Byoung Yoon Kim of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), and Jun Ye of the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Colorado.

By accepting the vice presidency, Bucksbaum makes a four-year commitment to OSA's Board of Directors. As vice president, he will automatically become president-elect in 2013 and then the society's president in 2014, followed by a one-year term as past president.

Bucksbaum has been an active OSA member for more than 20 years, including holding leadership roles on several conference program committees and technical meetings, as well as on the Board of Directors. Bucksbaum previously served as the program co-chair for OSA's Quantum Electronics and Laser Science Conference (1997) and general co-chair from (1999), and was chair of OSA's Short Wavelength Topical Meeting in 1992. On the Board, he served as a director at large from 2006-2008 and sat on the Board's Finance Committee during that time.

"Phil is joining the OSA leadership at a time where basic science funding is at risk.  He understands the challenges that OSA members and customers face in their professional careers and is committed to providing relevant services through the work of the Society," said Elizabeth Rogan, OSA CEO.  OSA has been fortunate to benefit from almost 100 years of talented leadership. Phil's reputation for high quality, excellence and responsiveness will continue this legacy well into the future."

Bucksbaum received his A.B. degree in physics from Harvard University in 1975, and his Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Berkeley in 1980. Following a postdoctoral year at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, he joined the staff of Bell Telephone Laboratories in New Jersey, first as a postdoc at Holmdel, and later as a member of the technical staff at Murray Hill.  He was appointed professor of physics at the University of Michigan in 1990, where he became the Otto Laporte Collegiate Professor in 1998 and the Peter Franken University Professor in 2005. In 2006, Bucksbaum moved to the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and Stanford University, and in 2009, he became the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science.  He has joint appointments in the Physics Department, the Applied Physics Department, and the SLAC Photon Sciences Department, and he served as department chair of Photon Science (2007–2010).  He is the director of the Stanford PULSE Institute for Ultrafast Science, and he also directs the Chemical Sciences Research Division at SLAC. Additionally, Bucksbaum has more than 200 publications.  He has contributed to several areas of atomic physics and ultrafast science, including strong-field laser-atom interactions, Rydberg wave packets, ultrafast quantum control, and ultrafast X-ray physics.

Along with Bucksbaum, the new directors at large, Kafka, Kim, and Ye, will begin their terms on Jan. 1, 2012, replacing three outgoing members of the Board of Directors. They will hold their positions for three years.

"OSA is pleased to welcome Jim, Yoon, and Jun to the Board," said Rogan. "These three talented members will bring a diverse set of experiences and skills to their positions, representing the 17,000-plus members across the globe."

About OSA

Uniting more than 130,000 professionals from 175 countries, the Optical Society of America (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit www.osa.org.