61 OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow


Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

61 OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow

WASHINGTON, March 20—The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that the society has elevated 61 members to the rank of fellow. These members will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2009. A listing of all 61 fellows appears below.

Any regular OSA member who has served with distinction in the advancement of optics is eligible for transfer to the class of fellow. OSA’s Fellow Members Committee recommends candidates to the Board of Directors, based on nominations from current fellow members. The number of fellows is limited by the bylaws to no more than 10 percent of the total membership.

“OSA fellows are involved in the most innovative advances in optics and photonics today,” said OSA President Thomas Baer. “Now more than ever, the achievements of these leaders in industry, academia, and government are not only benefiting others in the field of photonics, but also broader critical areas like medicine, alternative energy and the environment. On behalf of OSA, I am very pleased to acknowledge their outstanding contributions and honor my OSA colleagues with this well-deserved distinction.”

This year’s fellows represent the best and brightest in optics and photonics from all over the world with more than half of the chosen fellows hailing from outside of the United States. Fellows are selected on a variety of criteria such as record of significant publications or patents related to optics, service to OSA, achievements in optics and management ability.

Following is an alphabetical listing of OSA’s 2009 fellows. Specific information on each fellow’s accomplishments can be found on the Awards and Fellows section of OSA’s website.

  • Hans-Albert Bachor, Australian National University, Australia
  • Bill Barnes, University of Exeter, U.K.
  • Stephen Mark Barnett, University of Strathclyde, U.K.
  • Luc Bergé, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France
  • Stephen A. Boppart, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, U.S.A.
  • Samuel Leon Braunstein, University of York, U.K.
  • Mark Luitzen Brongersma, Stanford University, U.S.A.
  • Ann Catrina Bryce, University of Glasgow, U.K.
  • Vladimir Buzek, Slovenska Akademia Vied, Slovakia
  • Rama Chellappa, University of Maryland, U.S.A.
  • Zhigang Chen, San Francisco State University, U.S.A. and Nankai University, China
  • Julian Cheng, University of Texas at Austin, U.S.A.
  • Dipak Chowdhury, Corning Inc., France
  • Mark Cronin-Golomb, Tufts University, U.S.A.
  • Thomas E. Darcie, University of Victoria,Canada
  • Scott A. Diddams, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S.A.
  • Christopher R. Doerr, Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, U.S.A.
  • Daniel Dolfi, Thales Research and Technology, France
  • Edwin W. Eloranta, University of Wisconsin-Madison, U.S.A.
  • Thomas Elsaesser, Max-Born-Institut, Germany
  • Martin E. Fermann, IMRA America Inc., U.S.A.
  • Joseph A. Izatt, Duke University, U.S.A
  • Ferenc Krausz, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Germany
  • Kazuo Kuroda, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Falk Lederer, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany
  • Juerg Leuthold, Universität Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Ming-Jun Li, Corning Inc., U.S.A.
  • Susana Marcos, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain
  • Carmen S. Menoni, Colorado State University, U.S.A.
  • Rick Millane, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Daniel M. Mittleman, Rice University, U.S.A.
  • Martin Moskovits, University of California Santa Barbara, U.S.A.
  • Pantazis Mouroulis, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, U.S.A.
  • Chang Hee Nam, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Evgeniy E. Narimanov, Purdue University, U.S.A.
  • Jay Neitz, Medical College of Wisconsin, U.S.A.
  • David Dodge Nelson, Jr., Aerodyne Research, Inc., U.S.A.
  • Miguel Orszag, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, Chile
  • Tilman Pfau, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
  • Yehiam Prior, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • John G. Rarity, University of Bristol, U.K.
  • Pascal Salieres, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France
  • Kenneth J. Schafer, Louisiana State University, U.S.A.
  • Lu J. Sham, University of California San Diego, U.S.A.
  • Francesco Simoni, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
  • Henry I. Smith, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A.
  • Alexei Vladimirovich Sokolov, Texas A&M University, U.S.A.
  • Aephraim E. Steinberg, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Albert Stolow, National Research Council Canada, Canada
  • Andrei Tokmakoff, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A.
  • Stefano Trillo, Università degli Studi di Ferrara, Italy
  • Alfred Vogel, Universität zu Lüebeck, Germany
  • Stefan Wabnitz, Università degli Studi di Brescia, Italy
  • Ping-kong Alexander Wai, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Edward A. Watson, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, Sensors Directorate, U.S.A.
  • Martin Wegener, Universität Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Andrew G. White, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Changde Xie, Shanxi University, China
  • James M. Zavislan, University of Rochester, U.S.A.
  • John J. Zayhowski, MIT Lincoln Lab., U.S.A. Xiang Zhang, University of California Berkeley, U.S.A.

About OSA
Uniting more than 70,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit www.osa.org.