Fifty-Four OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow


Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

Fifty-Four OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow

WASHINGTON, Jan. 14 – The Optical Society of America (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that they have elevated 54 members to the rank of fellow.  These members will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2008.   A listing of all 54 fellows appears below.

Any regular OSA member who has served with distinction in the advancement of optics is eligible for transfer to the class of fellow. OSA’s Fellows & Honorary Members Committee recommends candidates to the Board of Directors, based on nominations from current fellow members. The number of fellows is limited by the bylaws to 10 percent of the total membership. 

“OSA Fellows represent the best of the field,” said Rod Alferness, OSA president.  “I am proud to honor my colleagues with this distinction and recognize their accomplishments.  Their contributions, leadership and dedication have made a dynamic impact on all of us who work in optics and photonics.”

This year’s fellows once again hail from around the globe, 20 of whom are affiliated with institutions outside the United States.  Fellows are selected on a variety of criteria such as record of publications related to optics, service to OSA, achievements in optics and management ability.

Following is an alphabetical listing of OSA’s 2008 fellows.  Specific information on each fellow’s accomplishments can be found at

  • Pierre Agostini, Ohio State University, USA
  • Polina Bayvel, University College London, United Kingdom
  • Paul R. Berman, University of Michigan, USA
  • Tim Birks, University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Brett E. Bouma, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Massachusetts
  • General Hospital, Harvard Medical School and Harvard-MIT
  • Division of Health Sciences and Technology, USA
  • Jean Paul Chambaret, Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquée LOA/Ecole Polytechnique, France
  • Angel Costela, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain
  • Mario Dagenais, University of Maryland, USA
  • Larry R. Dalton, University of Washington, USA
  • Cornelia Denz, Universität Münster, Germany
  • Kishan Dholakia, University of St. Andrews, United Kingdom
  • Yujie J. Ding, Lehigh University, USA
  • Ronald G. Driggers, U.S. Army Night Vision and Electronic Sensors Directorate, USA
  • Gary S. Duck, Ventana Management Services, Canada
  • Richard I. Epstein, Los Alamos National Lab, USA
  • Shanhui Fan, Stanford University, USA
  • James L. Fergason, Fergason Patent Properties, USA
  • F. Javier Garcia de Abajo, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Spain
  • Harald Giessen, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Leonid B. Glebov, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Sailing He, Zhejiang University, China, and Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Edwin J. Heilweil, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
  • Ralph B. James, Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
  • Alex K-Y. Jen, University of Washington, USA
  • Franz X. Kärtner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Philippe Lalanne, CNRS/Laboratoire Charles Fabry de Institut d’Optique, France
  • Michael S. Lebby, OIDA, USA
  • Michal Lipson, Cornell University, USA
  • Serge Luryi, State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA
  • Eric Mazur, Harvard University, USA
  • John J. McCann, McCann Imaging, USA
  • Arthur R. McGurn, Western Michigan University, USA
  • Paul F. McManamon, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
  • Robert A. Minasian, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Kenzo Miyazaki, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Alan J. Morrow, BinOptics Corporation, USA
  • David J. Moss, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Charles R. Munnerlyn, VISX, Inc. (retired), USA
  • Kyle J. Myers, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, USA
  • John D. O’Brien, University of Southern California, USA
  • Howard A. Padmore, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
  • Xiaochuan Pan, The University of Chicago, USA
  • Eugene S. Polzik, Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
  • Evgeny Popov, Institut Fresnel, France
  • Margaret D. Reid, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Steven L. Rolston, University of Maryland, USA
  • Timothy J. Schulz, Michigan Technological University, USA
  • Trevor J. Sears, Brookhaven National Laboratory and Stony Brook University, USA
  • Bruce W. Shore, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (retired), USA
  • Olav Solgaard, Stanford University, USA
  • Donna Strickland, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Jonathan Tennyson, University College London, United Kingdom
  • Jeffrey Owen White, Army Research Laboratory, USA
  • Anatoly V. Zayats, The Queen’s University Belfast, United Kingdom

About OSA

Uniting more than 70,000 professionals from 134 countries, the Optical Society of America (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit