Constance J. Chang-Hasnain

Constance J. Chang-Hasnain
Imperial College, UK

OSA Awards & Distinctions

Connie Chang-Hasnain received her B.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of California, Davis (1982) and her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley (1987). Connie was a Member of the Technical Staff at Bell Communications Research (1987–1992) and Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University (1992–1995). She joined UC Berkeley as Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences in 1996. She was named Whinnery Distinguished Chair Professor in 2006 and served as Chair of the Nanoscale Science and Engineering Graduate Group at UC Berkeley 2006-2017. Connie has been the Associate Dean for Strategic Alliances of College of Engineering since 2014.  She is the Founding Co-Director of Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute (TBSI) and the Chief Academic Officer of Berkeley Education Alliance for Research in Singapore (BEARS) since 2015.  She is an Honorary Member of A.F. Ioffe Institute; a Chang Jiang Scholar Endowed Chair at Tsinghua University; and a Visiting Professor of Peking University, National Jiao Tung University  and National University of Singapore.

A 34-year OSA member since her student years, Connie has been an active volunteer and has served our Society in different positions, including: Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave (2007-2012), elected Director-at-Large on the OSA Board of Directors (1998-2000), and member of the OSA Centennial Advisory Panel (2014-2016).  Her other volunteer positions include membership on the following: US Air Force Scientific Advisory Board; IEEE Photonics Society Board of Governors; and the US National Research Council’s Board on Assessment of NIST Programs, Study on Optics and Photonics, and US Advisory Committee to the International Commission on Optics.

Connie has been an enthusiastic meetings volunteer and organizer.  She served as CLEO Program Co-chair (1997) and General Co-chair (1999); OSA Slow and Fast Light Topical Meeting Program Co-Chair (2006) and General Co-chair (2007); and OSA Frontiers in Optics Conference General Co-Chair (2007). She was the General Technical Co-Chair (2004) and General Co-Chair (2005) for the Asia Pacific Optical Communications Conference.

Connie’s research interests range from semiconductor optoelectronic devices to materials and physics, with current foci on nano-photonic materials, vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) and their applications.  She has received the OSA Nick Holonyak Jr. Award (2007), IEEE David Sarnoff Award (2011), UNESCO Medal For the Development of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies (2015), IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Award for Scientific Achievement (2003), the Microoptics Award from Japan Society of Applied Physics (2009), DoD Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship (2008), von Humboldt Foundation Research Award (2009), and Guggenheim Fellowship (2009).  She is a Fellow of the OSA and IEEE, and an elected member of the US National Academy of Engineering.