OSA-JSAP Joint English-Language Symposium

For several years, OSA and the Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP) have organized a joint English-language symposia during the JSAP Autumn Meeting. 

All members of OSA, JSAP and JSAP's partner societies are invited participate in the meeting.

Dates & Location

Submission Topics

Student Travel Grant


Program Commitee



Dates & Location

8 - 11 September 2020
Japan Standard Time (JST)

Virtual Meeting


Submission Topics

1. Plasmonics and Nanophotonics

  1. Enhanced spectroscopies
  2. Plasmonic nanospectroscopy and nanoimaging
  3. Plasmonic structures: design and fabrication
  4. Plasmonic devices, circuits and waveguides
  5. Metamaterials
  6. Biosensors

2. Photonics Devices, Photonic Integrated Circuit and Silicon Phonics

  1. Semiconductor active and passive devices
  2. Photonic integrated circuit
  3. Silicon photonics
  4. Planer lightwave circuit
  5. Optical fibers
  6. Applications using photonic devices

3. Lasers and Laser Materials Processing

  1. Lasers, laser materials, technologies, applications
  2. Ultrashort-pulse generation, characterization, technology, applications, frequency comb
  3. Ultrafast, high-field phenomena
  4. Application of laser to material processing and manipulation
  5. Material modification by strong light fields
  6. Material synthesis and device fabrication using laser

4. Information Photonics

  1. Digital holography, computer-generated holography, and holographic memory
  2. Three-dimensional imaging and display
  3. Computational imaging, single-pixel imaging
  4. Threedimensional display,aerial display
  5. Multispectral imaging
  6. Polarimetric imaging
  7. Adaptive optics
  8. Machine learning

5. Nanocarbon and 2DMaterials

  1. Carbon nanotubes
  2. 2D semiconductors
  3. Graphene
  4. Van der Waals heterostructures
  5. Optical properties
  6. Growth of nanocarbons
  7. Growth of 2D materials
  8. Transport properties
  9. Nanocarbon photonics
  10. 2D materials photonics

6. Terahertz Photonics

  1. THz generation and detection
  2. THz optical elements (waveguides, metamaterials, photonicrystals)
  3. THz systems (spectroscopy, imaging, sensing)
  4. THz chemistry & biology
  5. THz application (communication, non-destructive testing and so on)
  6. Others

7. Quantum Optics and Nonlinear Optics

  1. Quantum information and processing
  2. Quantum communication
  3. Quantum metrology
  4. Quantum devices
  5. Quantum matter
  6. Nonlinear frequency conversion
  7. Nonlinear optical phenomena and multiphoton processes
  8. Ultrafast nonlinear optics
  9. Nonlinear fiber optics
  10. Nonlinear optical materials

Student Travel Grants

Student speakers from outside of Japan are invited to apply for travel grants. Grants will only be given if the meeting is physically held. The purpose of the awards is to encourage greater participation from abroad and to make our symposia diverse and vibrant. The program committee will select the winners. The quality of the abstract is part of the evaluation criteria. Travel grants will be distributed as reimbursements upon submission of receipts.

Apply today!

Application Deadline: 3 July 2020 (JST)


Category Fee
JSAP Regular Member/OSA Member 12,000 JPY
Student (Speaker) 3,000 JPY
Student (Attendence Only)         0 JPY
JSAP Senior Member / Life Member* 4,000 JPY
Member of JSAP’s Partner Societies 12,000 JPY
Non-Member 23,000 JPY


*JSAP members of over 60 years age without a regular job. Need application to become Senior Member.

Register today!

Program Committee

Program Chairs
Junichiro Kono (OSA), Rice University, USA

Takashige Omatsu (JSAP), Chiba University, Japan

Takuo Tanaka (JSAP), RIKEN, Japan

Prabhat Verma (JSAP), Osaka University, Japan


JSAP Members

Takuya Hirano, Gakushuin University, Japan

Ryoichi Horisaki, Osaka University, Japan

Satoshi Iwamoto, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Toshihiko Kiwa, Okayama University, Japan

Kazunari Matsuda, Kyoto University, Japan

Yuhei Miyauchi,  Kyoto University, Japan

Nobuhiko Nishiyama, Tokyo Tech, Japan

Norihiko Nishizawa, Naoya University, Japan

Masaaki Sakakura, Kyoto University, Japan

Nicholas I Smith, Osaka University, Japan

Hirotsugu Yamamoto, Utsunomiya University, Japan


OSA Members

C. T. Chan, The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong

Min Gu, University of Shanghai for Science and Technology, China

Ray-Hua Horng, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Yuri S. Kivshar, Australian National University, Australia

Kei May Lau, Hong Kong Univ of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Ruxin Li, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, CAS, China

Bishnu P. Pal, Mahindra Ecole Centrale Hyderabad, India

Fabian Rotermund, KAIST, South Korea

Caesar Saloma, University of the Philippines, Philippines

Chi-Kuang Sun, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Din Ping Tsai, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Qijie Wang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Huang Zhiwei, National University of Singapore, Singapore


JSAP-OSA Joint Symposia Secretariat, The Japan Society of Applied Physics
Email: joint_osa@jsap.or.jp
Tel: +81-3-3828-7724

JSAP’s Partner Societies

American Physical Society (APS), European Optical Society (EOS), European Physical Society (EPS), Institute of Physics (IOP), Korean Physical Society (KPS), Optical Society (OSA), Optical Society of Japan (OSJ), Optical Society of Korea (OSK), Physics Education Society of Japan (PESJ), Physical Society of Republic of China (PSROC), French Physical Society (SFP), International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) and Taiwan Photonics Society (TPS)