Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship

Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2007, this program honors the work of Harvey Pollicove and was made possible by the generous contributions of Harvey’s friends and colleagues to the H.M. Pollicove Memorial Fund.

Each year a scholarship of $4,000 USD is awarded to a student pursuing a degree in the field of precision optics manufacturing. This program rotates among four universities: the University of Rochester, the University of Arizona, the University of Central Florida and Monroe Community College.

Criteria for Eligibility

  • Applicants must be accepted or enrolled in an optics manufacturing program at one of the participating institutions. (undergraduate or graduate students are eligible)
  • Applicants must be at a minimum, an active half-time student at one of the participating institutions.
  • Applicants must intend to work in the US. optics manufacturing industry upon graduation.
  • Applicants must agree to complete and submit a Scholarship Report if they are selected as a scholarship recipient.

Application Requirements

  • One completed scholarship application
  • Two letters of recommendation.



Antoine Lepicard
University of Central Florida, US


Laura Coyle

Laura Coyle
University of Arizona , US


Peter McCarthy
Peter McCarthy 
University of Rochester, IS


2011 Winner Nea Sample

Nea Sample
Monroe Community College, US


Mark Ramme
Mark Ramme

University of Central Florida, US


2009 Pollicove WinnerKatie Schwertz
Katie Schwertz
University of Arizona, US


Katherine Hasman
Katherine Hasman
University of Rochester, US

OSA Foundation
2016 application process is not open at this time.

2016 deadline to be announced.

Follow us on Facebook

See the amazing work of our grant partners and stay updated on program deadlines and activities.

Facebook logo