Resources: Committees

Optical Trapping Applications (OTA)

Optical Trapping Applications (OTA)

14 - 18 abril 2013
Waikoloa Marriott Beach Resort and Spa, Waikoloa Beach, Hawaii, USA

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Optical Trapping Applications (OTA) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 19 dezembro 2012, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 4 February 2013
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 22 março 2013
Register for the Meeting By 18 março 2013
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 3 April 2013
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 14 abril - 18 abril 2013

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Program Chairs

Elliot Botvinick, Univ. of California at Irvine, USA
Steve Neal, Univ. of Glasgow, UK

Program Committee

Andrew Forbes, CSIR National Laser Centre, South Africa
Jesper Glückstad, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark
Brooke Hester, Appalachian State University, USA
Tony Jun Huang, Pennsylvania State Univ., USA
Steve Lee, Univ. of New South Wales, Australia
Jack Ng, Hong Kong Univ. of Science & Technology, Hong Kong
Ruben Ramos-Garcia, Inst. Nat Astrofisica Optica Electronica, Mexico