Optical Fabrication and Testing (OF&T)

22 - 26 junho 2014
The Fairmont Orchid, Kohala Coast, Hawaii, USA

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optical Fabrication and Testing (OF&T) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens October 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 março 2014, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 9 April 2014
Online Program Planner Available 14 April 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 3 junho 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 10 junho 2014
Register for the Meeting By 26 maio 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 22 junho - 26 junho 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Stephen Jacobs, University of Rochester, United States
Dae Wook Kim, University of Arizona, United States
James Mooney, ITT Exelis, Inc, United States
Jessica Nelson, Optimax Systems Inc, United States
Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, United States


Dave Aikens, Savvy Optics Corp., United States
Anthony Beaucamp, Chubu University ,
James Burge, University of Arizona, United States
Myung Cho, AURA NOAO, United States
Veera Dandu, Clarkson University & Intel Corporation, United States
Chris Evans, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Oliver Faehnle, FISBA OPTIK AG, Switzerland
William Goodman, Trex Enterprises Corp, United States
Ulf Griesmann, National Inst of Standards & Technology, United States
James Hadaway, University of Alabama in Huntsville, United States
Matthew Jenkins, Raytheon Company, United States
John Lambropoulos, University of Rochester, United States
Panomsak Meemon, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand
Brigid Mullany, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Robert Parks, Optical Perspectives Group, United States
Francois Piche, QED Technologies, United States
Michael Ponting, PolymerPlus LLC, United States
Kathleen Richardson, University of Central FL-CREOL, United States
Sven Schröder, Fraunhofer IOF, Germany
Katie Schwertz, Edmund Optics, United States
Jim Schwiegerling, University of Arizona, United States
Shai Shafrir, Corning Incorporated, United States
Paul Shore, Cranfield University, United Kingdom
Erika Sohn, Instituto de Astronomia UNAM, Mexico
Tayyab Suratwala, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
Flemming Tinker, Aperture Optical Sciences, United States
Ray Williamson, Ray Williamson Consulting, United States
Xue-Jun Zhang, Changchun Inst of Optic, Fine Mech & Phy, China
Weiyao Zou, ASML Optics LLC, United States