International Council

International Council Programs and Processes

OSA is committed to fostering the global optics and photonics community, particularly in countries with developing optics communities. The OSA International Council supports a number of programs linked to this goal and encourages members to submit new ideas on how the society can best serve our international membership.

Travel grants of up to $2,000 are available to OSA Fellows to travel and lecture in developing countries.

The International Council supports international conferences and meetings by serving as a co-sponsor of meetings held in developing communities.

OSA supports a variety of student prizes at international conferences. Recent winners include:

Photonics Society of Poland Symposium; OSA Best Student Poster Winners:
Arkadiusz Kuś, Warsaw Univ. of Technology, Faculty of Mechatronics, Poland; “Active, limited-angle tomographic phase microscope”
Paweł Jung, Warsaw Univ. of Technology, Faculty of Physics, Poland; “Nematicons steering and routing at the disclination lines in chiral nematic liquid crystals”
International Conference on Optics and Photonics (ICOP), Golden Jubilee Conference of the Optical Society of India; OSA Best Student Paper Winners:
Siddharth Kaushik, CSIR-CSIO, Chandigarh, India; “Cascaded long period grating with IGS for Bio-sensing Applications”
Samit Kumar Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India; “Parity-time (PT)-symmetric Closed-form quadrimer waveguides with focusing and defocusing nonlinearity”
Optical Society of Korea (OSK) Winter Annual Meeting; OSA Best Student Paper Winner:
Kyungnam Kang, Kyung Hee University, Korea; “Effect of Sunlight Polarization on the Absorption Efficiency of V-shaped Organic Solar Cells”
Australian Institute of Physics Congress & Australian Optical Society Annual Meeting; OSA Best Student Paper Winner:
Martin Ringbauer, University of Queensland, Australia; "Measurements on the Reality of the Wavefunction”
12th International Conference on Fiber Optics and Photonics (Photonics 2014); OSA Best Student Paper Winners:
Ajanta Barh, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India; "Low-Loss Hollow Core Plastic Photonic Band-Gap Fiber for Efficient THz Transmission"
Saba Nashreen Khan, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India; “Switchable Hermite-Gaussian Beam Generation in Dual-mode Fiber by Controlling Incident Polarization”
For more information on these programs, please contact Meredith Smith at:
Tel: +1 202.416.1421