Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Glass Waveguides (BGPP)

27 - 31 7月 2014
Barcelona, Spain

Resources: Committee

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Bragg Gratings, Photosensitivity and Poling in Glass Waveguides (BGPP) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 10 December 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 30 May 2014
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 8 4月 2014
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 1 8月 2014
Register for the Meeting By 30 6月 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 27 7月 - 31 7月 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions
Stephen Mihailov, National Research Council of Canada, Canada, General Chair
Paul Westbrook, OFS Laboratories, USA, General Chair
John Canning, University of Sydney, Australia, Program Chair
Morten Ibsen, University of Southampton, UK, Program Chair
Fundamentals of Photosensitivity and Poling

Matthieu Lancry, Université Paris Sud, France, Subcommittee Chair
Costantino Corbari, University of Southampton, UK
Marc Dussauze, CNRS Université de Bordeaux, France
Sylvain Girard, Université de Saint-Etienne, France
Leonid Glebov, University of Central Florida, CREOL, USA
Cyril Hnatovsky, Australian National University, Australia
Saulisu Joudkazis, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Yasuhiko Shimotsuma, Kyoto University, Japan
Linards Skuja, University of Latvia, Latvia
Christopher Smelser, Carleton University, Canada
Grating Properties and Fabrication Techniques

Kevin Chen, University of Pittsburgh, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Martin Bernier, Université Laval, COPL, Canada
Mykhaylo Dubov, Aston University, UK
Moshe Horowitz, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Dan Grobnic, National Research Council, Canada
Tristan Kremp, OFS Fitel LLC, USA
Graham Marshall, University of Bristol, UK
Manfred Rothhardt, IPHT-Jena, Germany,
Aping Zhang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Applications of Gratings and Poled Glass

Cicero Martelli, UTFPR Curitiba, Brazil, Subcommittee Chair
Andrea Cusano, Università del Sannio, Italy
Peter Kazansky, University of Southampton, UK
Martin Kristensen, Aarhus Universitet, Denmark
Xiaoping Liu, Nanjing University, China
Pawel Niewczas, University of Strathclyde, UK
Gang-Ding Peng, University of New South Wales, Australia
Paul Steinvurzel, Northrop Grumman Corporation, USA
Hwa-yaw Tam, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Réal Vallée, Université Laval, COPL, Canada
Stephan Wildermuth, ABB AG, Corporate Research, Germany
Jianping Yao, University of Ottawa, Canada