Honorary Members

Honorary Members

The most distinguished of all OSA Member categories, Honorary Membership is awarded to individuals who have made unique, seminal contributions to the field of optics. The roster of living Honorary Members demonstrates the high stature of this designation: Arthur Ashkin, Nicolaas Bloembergen, Steven Chu, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Roy J. Glauber, John L. Hall, Theodor W. Hänsch, Stephen E. Harris, Robert W. Hellwarth, Nick Holonyak, Donald B. Keck, Herwig Kogelnik, William D. Phillips and Emil Wolf.

Honorary Members are elected by unanimous vote of the OSA Board of Directors upon nomination by the OSA Presidential Advisory Committee and unanimous endorsement by the OSA Awards Committee.  The number of living Honorary Members cannot exceed two-thousandths (2/1000) of the total membership of the Society. Normally, no more than one Honorary Member can be elected in a calendar year, although the Board of Directors may exceed that limitation under extraordinary circumstances.

Honorary Members receive a complimentary OSA lifetime membership and other special recognitions of their distinguished status, including complimentary OSA meeting registrations and member subscriptions to all OSA journals of their choice.

Any OSA member may nominate someone to the status of Honorary Membership by sending a brief (no longer than one page) advocacy statement discussing the candidate to: OSA Awards Office, 2010 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, DC, USA 20036; or email awards@osa.org. The deadline for nominations is 1 March.

2015 - Nick Holonyak [Citation]

For fundamental, inventive and widely influential contributions to optics and photonics including the visible LED and the quantum well diode laser, technologies underlying solid-state lighting, the internet, and high performance computing.

2014 - Robert W. Hellwarth [Citation]

For pioneering introduction of Q-switches to lasers and profoundly influential contributions to the science of nonlinear optics, including stimulated light scattering, origins of nonlinear refractive index, photorefractivity and phase conjugation.

2013 - Stephen E. Harris [Citation]

For pioneering and profoundly influential contributions to the science of light, including optical parametric emission, lasing without inversion, electromagnetically induced transparency, and single cycle optical pulse generation.

2012 - Donald B. Keck [Citation]

For breakthrough contributions to the field of optical communications, including the invention of the first low-loss optical fiber, and for a history of service to OSA.

2011 - Jarus W. Quinn [Citation]

For his exceptional leadership of the OSA as its Executive Director from 1969 through 1994 and the profound influence that he has had on making the society the success that it is today.

2010 - James P. Gordon [Citation]

For his numerous high-impact, seminal contributions to quantum electronics and photonics, including the first demonstration of the maser.

2009 - Arthur Ashkin [Citation]

for his pioneering work on optical trapping and the development of optical tweezers

2008 - Roy J. Glauber [Citation]

For pioneering work on quantum optics and coherent states.

2008 - Theodor W. Haensch [Citation]

For pioneering work on laser spectroscopy and optical combs.

2007 - John L. Hall [Citation]

For pioneering work on high-precision laser metrology and fundamental optical tests of physical principles.

2005 - Herwig Kogelnik [Citation]

For achievements in several areas of optics and photonics, contributions to lightwave communications by directing industrial research and for leadership in the scientific community.

2004 - William D. Phillips [Citation]

For development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light.

2003 - Steven Chu [Citation]

For development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light.

2002 - Claude Cohen-Tannoudji [Citation]

For outstanding leadership in quantum optics, from initial studies of optical pumping, through seminal work on sub-Doppler limit laser cooling.

2001 - Alexander Prokhorov [Citation]

for his distinguished contributions and monumental role over the past 45 years in creating and developing quantum electronics

2000 - Willis E. Lamb [Citation]

In recognition of his fundamental and pioneering contributions to laser physics.

1993 - James G. Baker No citation available

1992 - George Wald No citation available

1987 - Emil Wolf [Citation]

In recognition of his preeminent service in the advancement of optics.

1986 - Andre Marechal No citation available

1984 - Nicolaas Bloembergen [Citation]

For unique, unparalleled contributions to the field of optics

1984 - Rudolf Kingslake No citation available

1983 - Arthur L. Schawlow [Citation]

No formal citation, refer to Optics News/ March, April 1983/Page 12.

1981 - John Donovan Strong No citation available

1980 - H. Keffer Hartline [Citation]

In recognition of the preeminent service he has rendered in the advancement of optics

1972 - Dennis Gabor No citation available

1972 - Edwin H. Land No citation available

1970 - Charles H. Townes No citation available

1968 - Gerhard Herzberg No citation available

1967 - George R. Harrison No citation available

1966 - Harrison M. Randall No citation available

1962 - Alfred Kastler No citation available

1958 - William F. Meggers No citation available

1957 - C.E. Kenneth Mees No citation available

1957 - Thomas Smith No citation available

1954 - Fritz Zernike No citation available

1950 - Arnold Sommerfeld No citation available

1950 - R. A. Millikan No citation available

1944 - R. W. Wood No citation available

1941 - Theodore Lyman No citation available

1941 - C. V. Raman No citation available

1933 - Charles Fabry No citation available

1933 - Edward Bausch No citation available

1922 - A. A. Michelson No citation available

1922 - S. W. Stratton No citation available

1916 - Edward L. Nichols No citation available

1916 - Charles S. Hastings No citation available

1916 - George E. Hale No citation available