Resources: Committee

Optical Sensors

18 - 20 julio 2016
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia Canada

Resources: Committee

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Optical Sensors Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 11/12/2015
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 abril 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 14 abril 2016
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 28 junio 2016
Register for the Meeting By 20 junio 2016
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 18 julio - 20 julio 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Ken Ewing, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Mario F.S. Ferreira, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal

Program Committee

THz sensing
Albert Redo-Sanchez, MIT, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Enrique Castro-Camus, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica A.C., Mexico
Optical Fiber Sensors
Gilberto Brambilla, University of Southampton, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Jacques Albert, Carleton University, Canada
Tong Sun, City University, UK
Jose-Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Libo Yuan, Harbin Engineering University, China
Wei Jin, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Janet Lou, Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), USA
Laser Based Sensors
Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, Korea, Subcommittee Chair
Peter Dragic, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Christian Grillet, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Peter Horak, ORC, University of Southampton, UK
Peter Vasil’ev, University of Cambridge, UK
Kwang Jo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea
Optical Chemical and Biological Sensors

Paul Pellegrino, US Army Research Laboratory, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Kiki Ikossi Anastasiou, Defense Threat Reduction Agency, United States
Brian Cullum, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
Anish Goyal, Massachusetts Inst of Tech Lincoln Lab, United States
Ellen Holthoff, US Army Research Laboratory, United States
Alan Samuels, Army ECBC, United States
Srikanth Singamaneni, Washington University in St. Louis, United States
Charles Wynn, Massachusetts Inst of Tech Lincoln Lab, United States

Micro- and Nano-Engineered Sensors

Mikhail (Misha) Sumetsky, Aston University, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Vasily N. Astratov, UNC Charlotte, USA
Andrei A. Fotiadi, University of Mons, Belgium
Chengbo Mou, Key Laboratory of Specialty Fibre Optics and Optical Access Network, Shanghai University, China
Limin Tong, Zhejiang University, China
David Webb, Aston University, UK

Nanophotonic and Plasmonic Biosensors

Björn Reinhard, Boston University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Svetlana Boriskina, MIT, United States
Lawrence Ziegler, Boston University, United States
Kimberley Hamad Schifferli, University of Massachussetts, United States