Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants

Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants

Established in 2009 by Optical Research Associates (ORA), now the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys, as a memorial to ORA’s former President and Chief Executive Officer Robert S. Hilbert, this program recognizes the research excellence of students in the areas of optical engineering, lens design and illumination design. Three grants of $1,100 USD can be awarded annually. We thank the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys for their sponsorship of this program.

Criteria for Eligibility

  1. Applicant must be the presenter of an accepted paper at a qualifying meeting (Note: preference is given to oral presentations, but posters are eligible as well.)
  2. Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.
  3. Accepted paper/poster must include research in the areas of optical engineering, lens design and/or illumination design.
  4. Applicants are encouraged to include graphics created using either CODE V® or LightTools®.
  5. Applicant must be a member of OSA.

Application Requirements

Please combine the following materials into one document as a .pdf file. Name your file "FirstName.LastName".
  1. OSAF Travel Grant Application completely filled out
  2. Copy of the paper and abstract submitted to the meeting
  3. Your CV/Resume
  4. A high-quality .jpg headshot for promotions. File size should be 500 KB or larger. Should be sent seperate from other materials



Rebecca Berman, University of Rochester, USA
Niamh Fitzgerald, National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland
Yang Zhao, University of Rochester, USA


Jin-hui Chen, Nanjing University, China 
Ahmed H. Dorrah, University of Toronto, Canada 
Denise Valente dos Santos, University College Dublin, Ireland 


Haoran Ren, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Nithyanandan K., Pondicherry University, India
Peng Wang, University of Utah, US


Tamer Elazhary, University of Arizona, US
Aaron Bauer, University of Rochester, US
Stacey Sueoka, University of Arizona, US


Julie Kho, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Doron Bar-Lev, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Stephen J. Olivas, University of California, San Diego, US


Benjamin Alonso, Universidad de Salamanca, Spain
Matthew Barnum (right), University of Arizona, US
Anthony Visconti (left), University of Rochester, US


Sergio Carbajo (left), Colorado State University, US
Ying Geng (right) University of Rochester, US
Akondi Vyas (right), Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India


Amber Beckley (right), University of Rochester, US
Joshua Kim (right), University of Arizona, US
Garam Yun (right), University of Arizona, US
OSA Foundation
Send your application materials to

Follow us on Facebook

See the amazing work of our grant partners and stay updated on program deadlines and activities.

Facebook logo