Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant


Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant

Jean Bennett

This program was established in 2008, in memory of Jean M. Bennett, a highly decorated research physicist who was recognized for her contributions to the studies of optical surfaces and served as OSA’s first female president.

One grant of $1,000 USD will be awarded to a student presenting their work at Frontiers in Optics in recognition of their research excellence.

This competition is made possible through the generous support of Nanoptek Corporation, the Pennsylvania State University Department of Physics and individual contributors, including: James C. Wyant, Alexander A. Sawchuk, G. Michael and Ruth Morris, Aden B. Meinel, Julio R. Blanco, Yoshiharu Namba, Leo Hollberg, Siu Au Lee and Dr. Kathleen Richardson.

Criteria for Eligibility

  1. Applicant must be the presenter of a paper or poster accepted at FiO
  2. Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.

Application Requirements

  1. Copy of the paper abstract submitted to FiO
  2. Letter of support from an advisor or professor
  3. Statement explaining the value of attending FiO
  4. Resume/CV




Laszlo Gyongyosi
Budapest University of Technology




Emma Wisniewski-Barker
University of Glasgow
United Kingdom



Micha Nixon (right)
Weizmann Institute of Science



Tongcang Li
University of Texas at Austin
United States

Read the criteria for eligibility and the selection process to the left and apply while submittting your paper to FiO
19 May 2014

Follow us on our YouTube Channel & Facebook

See the amazing work of our grant partners and stay updated on program deadlines and activities.

   YouTube logo      Facebook logo