Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2011 by the OSAF and the Canadian Association of Physicists Educational Trust Fund (CAP-ETF), this program pays tribute to Boris P. Stoicheff, an internationally renowned laser spectroscopist who also served as President of OSA (1976) and CAP (1983-84).

The $3,000 scholarship is awarded annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated both research excellence and significant service to the optics or physics community.

The scholarship rotates annually between the OSAF and CAP Educational Trust Fund (CAP-ETF). The first scholarship was presented to Wilson Brenna, University of Waterloo, Canada during the 2012 CAP Congress at the University of Calgary, Canada.

This program is made possible thanks to the support of donors and volunteers including Thorlabs, Nicolaas Bloembergen, Richard G. Brewer, Joseph and Shirley Eberly, Julie Fouquet and George Zdasiuk, Joseph Giordmaine, Dr. Kenneth O. Hill, Daniel Kleppner, Marc and Naomi Levenson, Aram Mooradian, Alexander Sawchuk, Y.R. Shen, George Stegeman, Henry van Driel, and Guangzhi Zhang.

Criteria for Eligibility

  • Be a student member in good standing of OSA.
  • Be an accepted, registered or enrolled full time graduate student studying astronomy, chemistry, electrical engineering, medical physics, or an optics, photonics, or physics related subject.
  • Have at least one publication in a peer-reviewed journal that is recognized by the awarding society.
  • Have made at least one conference presentation at a scientific meeting recognized by OSA.
  • Have an accepted submission at the 2013 FiO conference.
  • Demonstrate community service, which may include but is not limited to: leadership in a student association or other student organization at the undergraduate or graduate level.

Application Materials

  • Copy of the abstract or paper submitted to the 2013 FiO conference.
  • Description of community service activities.
  • Statement explaining area of research.
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV).
  • Latest university transcripts.
  • Two letters of recommendation.



Juan Nicolas Quesada
Juan Nicolas Quesada
University of Toronto


Yanhui Zhao
Yanhui Zhao

Penn State University
United States


Wilson Brenna
Wilson Brenna 

University of Waterloo
Application period will open in 2015

1 August 2015

Follow us on Facebook

See the amazing work of our grant partners and stay updated on program deadlines and activities.

Facebook logo