Technical Group Leadership Volunteers

Technical Group Leadership Open Nominations

OSA is looking for enthusiastic, self-motivated individuals to lead select technical groups and raise the level of engagement within these groups. You can make a positive impact within your scientific community by applying to lead one of the technical groups in which there is currently a vacancy. Nominations are due by 8 May 2015.

Apply for a technical group leadership position now!

If selected to lead a technical group, you will serve a three year term during which you will be responsible for ensuring that the group is active, useful and engaging to its community.

Key Duties Include:
  • Ensuring that your technical group is actively engaging members in your subfield of optics and photonics by organizing meaningful activities, which promote networking and the exchange of information within this community
  • Appointing an executive committee to assist you in these efforts within the first three months of your term
  • Submitting biannual reports on your technical group’s activities to the OSA Board of Meetings
  • Participating in regular calls with other technical group leaders in your division
Examples of activities include:
  • Regularly communicating with members through the technical group’s listserv
  • Creating and maintaining active social media channels (e.g., SharePoint, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn) to engage the community
  • Organizing networking events, workshops or other technical sessions at OSA meetings
  • Hosting webinars or web‐based trainings on topics of interest to the community
  • Developing feature or special issues of OSA journals
  • Interacting with OSA Student Chapters and Local Sections
  • Proposing an OSA Incubator meeting to examine an emerging topic within your subfield of optics and photonics
The above list is intended to provide ideas for activities you may wish to organize to engage your group.  While you are not obligated to implement all of these activities, this list also does not limit the activities you can engage in as a group leader.

If you are interested in serving as the leader of one of the technical groups, you may apply by completing the nomination form by 8 May 2015. As part of this process, you will need to submit your CV, a photo and a motivation statement, including a list of activities you would like to develop in order to engage the group’s technical community.

IMPORTANT: Please select all technical groups for which you would like to apply to chair at once on the nomination form, as you will not be able to return to the nominations page after you submit the form.

Apply for a technical group leadership position now!

Need to update your technical group affiliation before submitting a nomination? As an OSA Member, you can do so at any time by visiting My Account or by contacting OSA Customer Service.
The following technical groups are currently in need of leadership:
  • Optical Trapping and Manipulation in Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Thin Films
  • Applied Spectroscopy
  • Display Technology
  • Fundamental Laser Sciences
  • Short Wavelength Sources and Attosecond/High Field Physics
  • Ultrafast Optical Phenomena
  • Fiber Optics Technology