International Council

International Council Programs and Processes

OSA is committed to fostering the global optics and photonics community, particularly in countries with developing optics communities. The OSA International Council supports a number of programs linked to this goal and encourages members to submit new ideas on how the society can best serve our international membership.

Travel grants of up to $2,000 are available to OSA Fellows to travel and lecture in developing nations.

The International Council supports international conferences and meetings by serving as a co-sponsor of meetings held in developing communities.

OSA also supports a variety of student prizes at international conferences. Recent winners include:

Optical Society of Korea (OSK) Winter Annual Meeting; OSA Best Student Paper Winner:
Hwa Joon Jun, Yeungnam University, S. Korea; “Fabrication of Three-Dimensional Reflective White Pattern Using Dry-Film Resist”
Australian Institute of Physics Congress & Australian Optical Society Annual Meeting; OSA Best Student Paper Winner:
Michael Lawrence G. Castanares, The Australian National University, Australia

Optics & Photonics Taiwan, International Conference (OPTIC) and the Annual Meeting of the Taiwan Photonics Society; OSA Student Prize Winners:
Cheng-Ting Tsai, National Taiwan University; Yu-Han Hung, National Cheng Kung University; Hsin-YU Wu, National Chiao Tung University; Yu-Hsiang Wen, National Tsing Hua University; Jing-Chi Du, National Sun Yat-sen University; Shiuan Yun Li, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology; and Chen-Yu Chien, National Chiao Tung University
24th International Conference on Optical Fibre Sensors (OFS); OSA Best Student Paper Winner:
Konstantin Ott, Laboratorie Kastler Brossel, LNE-SYRTE, France; “Long high finesse fiber Fabry-Perot resonators”
PICQUE Roma Scientific School; OSA Student Travel Grant Winners:
Gilberto Borges, Univ. Minas Gerais, Brazil; Eduardo Lages, Univ. Minas Gerais, Brazil; Santiago Rojas-Rojas, ConcepciĆ³n Univ., Chile; and Rebeca Tudor, IMT, Romania
IC-IMPACTS Summer Institute; OSA Best Student Poster Winner:
Christina Grace Charlet Christopher Rajkumar, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India; "Gold Sputtered U-Bent Optical Fiber for Refractive Index measurement"
For more information on these programs, please contact Meredith Smith at:
Tel: +1 202.416.1421