Student Chapter Excellence Prize

Student Chapter and Local Section Excellence Prize

OSA annually recognizes two OSA Student Chapters and one Local Section for demonstrating excellence each year.

In 2016, OSA will award chapters and sections prizes in two categories:

Chapters and Sections may apply online through the OSA Grants Database.

One chapter winner and two chapter finalists will be recognized in each category. Finalists and winners will be notified by 1 October, and the chapter representative should be prepared to present a poster on the chapter's activities and accept recognition at the Student Leadership Conference at FiO/LS on 17 October. View the full contest rules online.

A Local Section will be recognized in at least one category. Chapters and sections may enter in both categories, but they can only win in one. The Universidad Nacional de Tucumán OSA Student Chapter and ITMO University OSA Student Chapter are unable to win.

Community/Youth Education Outreach

Does your chapter/section make a difference in its local community by visiting schools and science fairs? Has your group created its own kits to teach youth about optics? If your chapter has been especially dedicated to youth education outreach over the past year, we encourage you to apply in the Youth Education Outreach category.

Professional Development

Is your chapter/section a well-oiled machine that hosts polished technical events? Does your group strive to connect graduating members with job opportunities in academia, industry and/or government? Does your group support diversity and inclusion for underrepresented communities within the field of optics? If your chapter/section has been especially focused on providing professional development for its members through events and programming, we encourage you to apply in the Professional Development category.

The 2015 Excellence Prize Winners are:

*Note that the 2015 prize and prior were awarded to one Large Chapter, one Small Chapter and one Local Section

ITMO University OSA Student Chapter (Large Chapter Winner)

The ITMO University OSA Student Chapter members pose during Russia’s National Opening Ceremony of the International Year of Light 2015. The chapter assisted ITMO University with the organization of this event.

Universidad Nacional de Tucumán OSA Student Chapter (Small Chapter Winner)

The Universidad Nacional de Tucuman OSA Student Chapter poses after their winter recruitment event.

New England Local Section of OSA

Secretary of the New England Local Section of OSA Mike Zollers and President Elect Katherine Calabro give an optical demonstration at the Eastern Massachusetts Girl Scouts STEM Expo.

2015 finalists:
  • Rochester Institute of Technology Student Chapter
  • Universidad de Salamanca OSAL Student Chapter
  • École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) Student Chapter
  • Student Optics Chapter (SOCk) University of Arizona
  • Optical Society of Chicago
  • National Capital Section of OSA