Photonics in Switching (PS)

13 - 16 July 2014
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, San Diego, California, USA

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Photonics in Switching (PS) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 19 November 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 26 March 2014
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 24 June 2014
Register for the Meeting By 16 June 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 13 July - 16 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

General Chairs

Keren Bergman, Columbia Univ., USA
Antonella Bogoni, CNIT, Italy
Yoshiaki Nakano, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan

Technical Chairs

Shaya Fainman, Univ. of California San Diego, USA
Dan Kilper, Univ. of Arizona, USA
Dan Marom, Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem, Israel
Naoya Wada, NICT, Japan

Program Committee

Optical Switching Technology & Devices

Bert Jan Offrein, IBM Research GmbH, Switzerland, Subcommittee Chair
Taro Arakawa, Yokohama National Univ., Japan
Nicola  Calabretta, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, Netherlands
Giampiero Contestabile, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Kiichi Hamamoto, Kyusyu Univ., Japan
Michael Hochberg, Univ. of Delaware, USA
Seppo Honkanen, Univ. of Eastern Finland, Finland
Shayan Mookherjea, Univ. of California San Diego, USA
Richard  Penty, Univ. of Cambridge, UK

Optical Switching Functions & Building Blocks

Naoya Wada, NICT, Japan, Subcommittee Chair
Dan  Blumenthal, Univ. of California Santa Barbara, USA
Antonella  Bogoni, CNIT, Italy
Gabriella Cincotti, Univ. of Roma, Italy
Matthew Goodman, DARPA, USA
Hiroshi  Hasegawa, Nagoya Univ., Japan
Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, McGill University, Canada
Shu Namiki, AIST, Japan
Robert Norwood, Univ. of Arizona, USA
Roberto Proietti, Univ. of California, Davis, USA
Ryo Takahashi, NTT, Japan
Takuo Tanemura, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan
Hiroyuki  Uenohara, Tokyo Inst. Univ., Japan
Kenneth. K. Y  Wong, Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Optical Systems

Dan Marom, Hebrew Univ., Israel, Subcommittee Chair
Hercules  Avramopoulos, NTUA, Greece
Polina Bayvel, Univ. College London, UK
Fumio Futami, Tamagawa Univ.,Japan
Ken-Ichi  Kitayama, Osaka Univ., Japan
Tsuyoshi  Konishi, Osaka Univ., Japan
Benjamin Lee, IBM TJ Watson Research Ctr., USA
Roland Ryf, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, USA
Marco Secondini, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Chester Shu, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Alan Willner, Univ of Southern California, USA

Optical Networking

Dan Kilper, Univ. of Arizona, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Shinichi Arakawa, Osaka Univ., Japan
Soichiro Araki, NEC, Japan
Calvin C. K.  Chan, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Juan Pedro Fernandez-Palacios Gimenez, Telefonica, Spain
Franko Kueppers, Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
Mario Pickavet, IBBT, Ghent Univ, Belgium
June Koo (Kevin) Rhee, KAIST, South Korea
Frank Ruhl, Telstra, Australia
Dimitra Simeonidou, Univ. of Bristol, UK
Alexandros Stavdas, Univ. Of Peloponnese, Greece
Joseph Touch, Univ. of Southern California, USA
Anna  Tzanakaki, Univ. of Bristol, UK
Ryohei Urata, Google, USA
Lena  Wosinska, KTH, Sweden