Optical Interference Coatings (OIC)

19 - 24 June 2016
Lowes Ventana Canyon , Tuscon, Arizona, USA

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optical Interference Coatings (OIC) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 19 June - 24 June 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V., Germany

Program Chair

Li Li, National Research Council Canada, Canada


Claude Amra, Fresnel Institut, France
James Barrie, The Aerospace Corporation, United States
Hsi-Chao Chen, National Yunlin Univ of Sci. and Tech., Taiwan
Xinbin Cheng, , China
Mireille Commandré, Fresnel Institut, France
Svetlana Dligatch, CSIRO Australia, Australia
Angela Duparré, Fraunhofer IOF, Germany
Henrik Ehlers, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V., Germany
Karen Hendrix, JDSU, United States
Chang Kwon Hwangbo, Inha University, South Korea
Michael Jacobson, Optical Data Associates, United States
Jennifer Kruschwitz, JK Consulting, United States
Cheng-Chung Lee, National Central University, Taiwan
Bincheng Li, CAS Institute of Optics and Electronics, China
Xu Liu, Zhejiang University, China
Roland Loercher, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
Ludvik Martinu, Ecole Polytechnique, Canada
Carmen Menoni, Colorado State University, United States
Claude Montcalm, Iridian Spectral Technologies, Ltd, Canada
Hiroshi Murotani, Tokai University, Japan
James Oliver, University of Rochester, United States
Angela Piegari, ENEA, Italy
Robert Sargent, JDSU, United States
Robert Schaffer, Evaporated Coatings, Inc, United States
Ulrike Schulz, Fraunhofer IOF, Germany
Noriaki Toyoda, University of Hyogo, Japan
Michael Trubetskov, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Russia
Alfons Zoeller, Leybold Optics GmbH, Germany