International Conference on Ultrafast Phenomena (UP)

07 - 11 July 2014
Okinawa Convention Center, Ginowan City, Okinawa, Japan

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the International Conference on Ultrafast Phenomena (UP) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 15 November 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 13 February 2014, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 28 March 2014
Online Program Planner Available 1 April 2014
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 23 June 2014, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 15 May 2014
Register for the Meeting By 31 May 2014
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 7 July - 11 July 2014

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Steven Cundiff, University of Colorado at Boulder JILA, United States
Regina de Vivie-Riedle, Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität Munchen, Germany
Kaoru Yamanouchi, University of Tokyo, Japan

Program Chair

Louis DiMauro, Ohio State University, United States
Makoto Kuwata-Gonokami, University of Tokyo, Japan


Martin Aeschlimann, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany
Richard Averitt, Boston University , United States
Jens Biegert, ICFO -The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
Andrea Cavalleri, Max-Planck-Inst fur Eisenforschung GmbH, Germany
Lin Chen, Northwestern University, United States
Thomas Feurer, Institute of Applied Physics, Switzerland
Mette Gaarde, Louisiana State University, United States
Nuh Gedik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Tony Heinz, Columbia University, United States
Jan Helbing, Universitat Zurich, Switzerland
Kevin Kubarych, University of Michigan, United States
Alfred Leitenstorfer, University of Konstanz, Germany
Ruxin Li, Shanghai Inst of Optics and Fine Mech, China
Stefan Lochbrunner, Institut für Physik, Universität Rostock, Germany
Jonathan Marangos, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Jennifer Ogilvie, University of Michigan, United States
David Reis, Stanford University, United States
Charles Schmuttenmaer, Yale University , United States
Gregory Scholes, University of Toronto, Canada
Olga Smirnova, Max Born Institute, Germany
Koichiro Tanaka, Kyoto University, Japan
Fabrice Vallee, University of Lyon, France
David Villeneuve, National Research Council Canada, Canada
Martin Zanni, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
Dongping Zhong, Ohio State University,

Go to the local organizer's website to view the International Advisory Committee and the Local Organizing Committee.