Resources: Committees

Freeform Optics

Freeform Optics

03 - 06 November 2013
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass, Tucson, Arizona, USA

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Freeform Optics Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 8 March 2013
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 1 August 2013, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 9 September 2013
Online Program Planner Available 13 September 2013
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 8 October 2013, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 18 October 2013
Register for the Meeting By 7 October 2013
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 3 November - 6 November 2013

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


John Koshel, Photon Engineering LLC, United States
Kevin Rolland-Thompson, Synopsys, Inc, United States


James Burge, University of Arizona, United States
Angela Davies, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Chris Evans, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Gregory Forbes, QED Technologies Inc, Australia
Joseph Howard, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, United States
David Jenkins, Synopsys, Inc, United States
Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, United States
Mitchell Ruda, Ruda-Cardinal, Inc, United States
Jose Sasian, University of Arizona, United States
H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, United States
Wilhelm Ulrich, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
Andrew Wood, Qioptiq Ltd, United Kingdom