Nonlinear Photonics (NP)

05 - 08 September 2016
SMC Conference & Function Centre , Sydney, Australia

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Nonlinear Photonics (NP) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 01/04/2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Peer Review 5 May - 17 May 2016
Program Committee Decisions 18 May - 31 May 2016
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 6 June 2016
Online Program Planner Available Week of 10 June 2016
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 16 August 2016
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 16 August 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 15 August 2016
Register for the Meeting By 8 August 2016
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 5 September - 8 September 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

General Chair

Alexander Gaeta, Columbia University, United States
Yaroslav Kartashov, ICFO -The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain

Program Chair

Gian-Luca Oppo, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Andrey Sukhorukov, Australian National University, Australia
Stefan Wabnitz, Universita degli Studi di Brescia, Italy

Optical Pulses in Nonlinear Waveguides

Fabio Biancalana, Heriot-Watt University, United Kingdom, Subcommittee Chair
Milivoj Belic, Texas A & M University at Qatar, Qatar
John Dudley, Universite de Franche-Comte, France
Boris Malomed, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Curtis Menyuk, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
Arnaud Mussot, Univ Lille 1 Laboratoire PhLAM, France
Dmitry Skryabin, University of Bath, United Kingdom
John Travers, Max-Planck-Inst Physik des Lichts, Germany
Stefano Trillo, Universita degli Studi di Ferrara, Italy
Sergei Turitsyn, Aston University, United Kingdom
Aleksei Zheltikov, M. V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

Spatial and Temporal Nonlinear Interactions in Classical and Quantum Photonics

Roberto Morandotti, INRS-Energie Mat & Tele Site Varennes, Canada, Subcommittee Chair
Fatkhulla Abdullaev, International Islamic Univ Malaysia, Malaysia
Alejandro Aceves, Southern Methodist University, United States
Gaetano Assanto, Universita degli Studi Roma Tre, Italy
Cornelia Denz, Westfaelische Wilhelms Univ Munster, Germany
Miro Erkintalo, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Antonio Picozzi, Centre National Recherche Scientifique, France
Sergey Polyakov, National Inst of Standards & Technology, United States
Kestutis Staliunas, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Alexander Szameit, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany
Frank Wise, Cornell University, United States

Nonlinear Cavities, Active Photonics with Gain and Dissipation, and Light-Matter Interactions

Stephane Barland, Universite de Nice Sophia Antipolis, Subcommittee Chair
Salvador Balle, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain
Joachim Brand, Massey University, New Zealand
Neil Broderick, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Stephane Coen, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Massimo Giudici, , France
Philippe Grelu, CNRS, France
Bernd Krauskopf, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
Elena Ostrovskaya, ANU, Australia
Ulf Peschel, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany
Ping Kong Wai, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

Nonlinear Nanophotonics, Plasmonics, and Metamaterials

Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University, Australia, Subcommittee Chair
Andrea Alu, University of Texas at Austin, United States
Costantino De Angelis, Universita' degli Studi di Brescia, Italy
Andrea Di Falco, University of St Andrews, United Kingdom
Andrea Fratalocchi, King Abdullah Univ of Sci & Technology, Saudi Arabia
Javier García de Abajo, The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain
Harald Giessen, Universität Stuttgart, Germany
Ortwin Hess, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Martti Kauranen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
Boris Lukyanchuk, Data Storage Institute, Singapore
Fangwei Ye, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

All-Optical Nonlinear Devices and Applications

Ady Arie, Tel-Aviv University, Israel, Subcommittee Chair
Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem, University of Adelaide, Australia
Guillaume Huyet, Tyndall National Inst., Ireland
Colin McKinstrie, Applied Communication Sciences, United States
David Moss, University of Sydney, Australia
Masaya Notomi, NTT Basic Research Laboratories, Japan
Francesca Parmigiani, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Anna Peacock, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Wang Pu, School Info Sci & EnginShandong Univ, China
Chester C.T. Shu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Dingyuan Tang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Chunle Xiong, University of Sydney, Australia

Advisory Committee

Demetrios Christodoulides, University of Central Florida, USA, Chair
Nail Akhmediev, Australian National University, Australia
Yuri S. Kivshar, Australian National University, Australia
Barry Luther-Davies, Australian National University, Australia
Thomas Pertsch, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany
Mordechai Segev, Technion, Israel
Lluis Torner, ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain