Optics and Photonics for Energy & the Environment (E2)

06 - 09 November 2017
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado United States

Resources: Committee

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Optics and Photonics for Energy & the Environment (E2) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 06 March 2017
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 24 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Early July 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 18 August 2017
Online Program Planner Available 21 August 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By
Register for the Meeting By
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 30 October 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 6 November - 9 November 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Arthur Dogariu, Princeton University, United States
Vanda Grubišić, National Center for Atmospheric Research, United States
Jianguo Liu, Anhui Inst Optics & Fine Mech, CAS, China
Nathalie Picque, Max-Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik, Germany


LiangFu Chen, CAS Inst of Remote Sensing Application,
Weidong Chen, Universite du Littoral, France
Jong Chow, The Australian National University, Australia
Belay Demoz, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
Aamir Farooq, King Abdullah Univ of Sci & Technology, Saudi Arabia
Johannes Kiefer, Universitat Bremen, Germany
Iftach Klapp, ARO-Volcani Center, Israel
Gerard Wysocki, Princeton University, United States
Ming Yan, Max-Plank-Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany