Optics for Solar Energy (SOLAR)

06 - 09 November 2017
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado United States

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Optics for Solar Energy (SOLAR) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 06 March 2017
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 24 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Early July 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 18 August 2017
Online Program Planner Available 21 August 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 16 October 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 4 October 2017
Register for the Meeting By 9 October 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 30 October 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 6 November - 9 November 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Roman Bader, Australian Solar Thermal Association, Australia
Olindo Isabella, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
Jeremy Munday, University of Maryland at College Park, United States


Marco Ernst, The Australian National University, Australia
Nasser Karam, KaramcoUSA Consulting, United States
John Koshel, The University of Arizona, United States
Wojciech Lipinski, The Australian National University, Australia
Alexander Mellor, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Bonna Newman, ECN Solar Energy, Netherlands
Andru Prescod, ManTech International Corp, United States
Domingo Santana, Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain
Nathan Schuknecht, Skyfuel Inc., United States
Stefania Tescari, German Aerospace Center, Germany
Alan Weimer, University of Colorado Boulder, United States
Roland Winston, University of California Merced, United States
Xiaodan Zhang, Nankai University, China