Fourier Transform Spectroscopy (FTS)

14 - 17 November 2016
Kongresshalle am Zoo Leipzig, Leipzig, Germany

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Fourier Transform Spectroscopy (FTS) Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens March 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 26 July 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 26 July 2016
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 26 October 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 12 October 2016
Register for the Meeting By 17 October 2016
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 14 November - 17 November 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Program Chair

Nathalie Picque, Max-Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik, Germany
Locke Spencer, University of Lethbridge, Canada
Joe Taylor, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States


Christoph Englert, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Adam Fleisher, National Inst of Standards & Technology, United States
Aleksandra Foltynowicz, Umea University, Sweden
Jérôme Genest, Universite Laval, Canada
Frans J. Harren, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, Netherlands
David Johnson, NASA Langley Research Center, United States
Erik Kretschmer, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany
Akihiko Kuze, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, Japan
Hiroshi Matsuo, National Astronomical Observatory Japan, Japan
Luca Palchetti, Istituto Nazionale di Ottica (CNR), Italy
Juliet Pickering, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Gregory Rieker, University of Colorado at Boulder, United States
Hiroyuki Sasada, Keio University, Japan
Giorgio Savini, University College London, United Kingdom
Carole Tucker, Cardiff University,
Kaley Walker, University of Toronto, Canada