High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena


HILAS addresses all aspects of strong field phenomena from the technology of high-intensity light sources to the physics of intense light-matter interaction.

The High-Intensity Sources and High-Field Phenomena (HILAS) meeting aims to assemble a multidisciplinary community to present and exchange novel ideas and breakthrough achievements relating to the physics and technology of high field sources, and high-intensity laser-matter interaction.

The conference covers both theoretical and experimental aspects of strong-field phenomena. The latest research results in terawatt/petawatt lasers, amplification of few-cycle pulses, laser fusion technologies, EUV and X-ray sources based on lasers, high-intensity sources from the THz up to the X-ray spectral range, plasmas in ultrahigh fields, advances in attosecond science and relativistic nonlinear phenomena are among the topics to be discussed.  

Committee Members

Jean-Claude Kieffer, INRS-Energie Materiaux et Telecom, Canada , Chair

Tamas Nagy, Max Born Institute, Germany , Chair

Gunter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute, Germany , Chair

Constantin Haefner, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States , Program Chair

Bedrich Rus, Institute of Physics, , Program Chair

Giuseppe Sansone, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany , Program Chair

Andreas Assion, FemtoLasers Produktions GmbH, Austria

Daniele Brida, University of Konstanz, Germany

Antonino Di Piazza, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Germany

Subhendu KAHALY, Extreme Light Infrastructure, ALPS, Hungary

Efim Khazanov, Institute of Applied Physics, Russia

Andrew Kung, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Rodrigo Lopez-Martens, Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée, France

Yann Mairesse, Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications, France

Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Scientific Lasers GmbH + Co. KG, Germany

Jean-Luc Miquel, CEA DAM, France

Nina Rohringer, Max Planck Advanced Study Group, Germany

Luis Roso, Centro de Laseres Pulsados, Spain

Hartmut Ruhl, LMU, Germany

Emily Sistrunk, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory,

Emma Springate, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom

Eiji Takahashi, RIKEN, Japan

John Tisch, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Laszlo Veisz, Max-Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik, Sweden

Caterina Vozzi, IFN-CNR, Italy

Zhiyi Wei, Institute of Physics, CAS, China


Jean-Claude Kieffer

INRS-Energie Materiaux et Telecom, CANADA

Tamas Nagy

Max Born Institute, GERMANY

Gunter Steinmeyer

Max Born Institute, GERMANY

Constantin Haefner

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, UNITED STATES
Program Chair

Bedrich Rus

Institute of Physics,
Program Chair

Giuseppe Sansone

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, GERMANY
Program Chair


OSA - The Optical Society

American Elements, global manufacturer of high purity metals, substrates, laser crystals, advanced materials for semiconductors, optoelectronics, & LEDs.