High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena

26 - 28 March 2018
Hilton Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens August 2017
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 21 November 2017, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions 22 December 2017
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 12 February 2018
Register for the Meeting By 26 February 2018
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 26 March - 28 March 2018

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Jean-Claude Kieffer, INRS-Energie Materiaux et Telecom, Canada
Tamas Nagy, Max Born Institute, Germany
Gunter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute, Germany

Program Chair

Constantin Haefner, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
Bedrich Rus, Institute of Physics,
Giuseppe Sansone, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany


Andreas Assion, FemtoLasers Produktions GmbH, Austria
Daniele Brida, University of Konstanz, Germany
Antonino Di Piazza, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Germany
Subhendu KAHALY, Extreme Light Infrastructure, ALPS, Hungary
Efim Khazanov, Institute of Applied Physics, Russia
Andrew Kung, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Rodrigo Lopez-Martens, Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée, France
Yann Mairesse, Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications, France
Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Scientific Lasers GmbH + Co. KG, Germany
Jean-Luc Miquel, CEA DAM, France
Nina Rohringer, Max Planck Advanced Study Group, Germany
Luis Roso, Centro de Laseres Pulsados, Spain
Hartmut Ruhl, LMU, Germany
Emily Sistrunk, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory,
Emma Springate, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom
André Staudte, University Ottawa,
Eiji Takahashi, RIKEN, Japan
John Tisch, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Laszlo Veisz, Max-Planck-Institut fur Quantenoptik, Sweden
Caterina Vozzi, IFN-CNR, Italy
Zhiyi Wei, Institute of Physics, CAS, China