Optics and the Brain

02 - 05 April 2017
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, San Diego, California United States

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Optics and the Brain Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 19 December 2016, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 2 January 2017
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 March 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 28 March 2017
Register for the Meeting By 2 March 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 2 April - 5 April 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University, United States
Francesco Pavone, European Lab for Non-Linear Spectroscopy, Italy

Vice Chair

Daniel Côté, Universite Laval, Canada
Joseph Culver, Washington University in St Louis, United States


1. Superresolution and Structural Microscopy of the Nervous System
Valentin Nägerl, Bordeaux University, France, Subcommittee Chair
Raju Tomer, Columbia University, USA

2. Functional Microscopy and Optical Imaging
Emiliani Valentina, Neurophotonics Laboratory, France, Subcommittee Chair
Emmanuel Beaurepaire, Centre National Recherche Scientifique, France
Anna Devor, University of California San Diego, USA
Chris B. Schaffer, Cornell University, USA

3. Analyzing Circuitry, Network Function, and Information Processing
Tim Murphy, University of British Columbia, Canada, Subcommittee Chair
Takaki Komiyama, University of California San Diego, USA
Alipasha Vaziri, Rockefeller University, USA
Jack Waters, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA

4. Optogenetics and Novel Reporters
Shy Shoham, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel, Subcommittee Chair
Hillel Adesnik, University of California Berkeley, USA
Larry Cohen, Yale University, USA

5. Tissue Scattering and Clearing
Viviana Gradinaru, California Institute of Technology, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Ali Erturk, University of Munich, Germany
Hiroki Ueda, University of Tokyo, Japan

6. Optics and Brain Disease
Hod Dana, HHMI – Janelia Farm Research Campus, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Dimitrios Davalos, Cleveland Clinic, USA
Clare Elwell, University College of London, UK
Charles P. Lin, Harvard University, USA
Minah Suh, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea

Hybrid and Multimodality Approaches to Neuroimaging
Daniel Razansky, Technical University of Munich, Germany, Subcommittee Chair
Frederic Leblond, Polytechnique Montreal, Canada
Hao F. Zhang, Northwestern University, USA

8. Dissemination and Commercialization of BRAIN Technologies
Leonard Khiroug, Neurotar Ltd, Finland, Subcommittee Chair
Chris Rex, Afraxis, USA
Balazs Rozsa, Femtonics, Hungary
Yasaman Soudagar, Neurescence, Canada