Optics and the Brain

02 - 05 April 2017
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, San Diego, California United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optics and the Brain Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 19 December 2016, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 2 January 2017
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 March 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 28 March 2017
Register for the Meeting By 2 March 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 2 April - 5 April 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University, United States
Francesco Pavone, European Lab for Non-Linear Spectroscopy, Italy

Vice Chair

Daniel Côté, Universite Laval, Canada
Joseph Culver, Washington University in St Louis, United States


1. Superresolution and Structural Microscopy of the Nervous System
Valentin Nägerl, Bordeaux University, France, Subcommittee Chair
Raju Tomer, Columbia University, USA

2. Functional Microscopy and Optical Imaging
Emiliani Valentina, Neurophotonics Laboratory, France, Subcommittee Chair
Emmanuel Beaurepaire, Centre National Recherche Scientifique, France
Anna Devor, University of California San Diego, USA
Chris B. Schaffer, Cornell University, USA

3. Analyzing Circuitry, Network Function, and Information Processing
Tim Murphy, University of British Columbia, Canada, Subcommittee Chair
Takaki Komiyama, University of California San Diego, USA
Alipasha Vaziri, Rockefeller University, USA
Jack Waters, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA

4. Optogenetics and Novel Reporters
Shy Shoham, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel, Subcommittee Chair
Hillel Adesnik, University of California Berkeley, USA
Larry Cohen, Yale University, USA

5. Tissue Scattering and Clearing
Viviana Gradinaru, California Institute of Technology, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Ali Erturk, University of Munich, Germany
Hiroki Ueda, University of Tokyo, Japan

6. Optics and Brain Disease
Hod Dana, HHMI – Janelia Farm Research Campus, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Dimitrios Davalos, Cleveland Clinic, USA
Clare Elwell, University College of London, UK
Charles P. Lin, Harvard University, USA
Minah Suh, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea

Hybrid and Multimodality Approaches to Neuroimaging
Daniel Razansky, Technical University of Munich, Germany, Subcommittee Chair
Frederic Leblond, Polytechnique Montreal, Canada
Hao F. Zhang, Northwestern University, USA

8. Dissemination and Commercialization of BRAIN Technologies
Leonard Khiroug, Neurotar Ltd, Finland, Subcommittee Chair
Chris Rex, Afraxis, USA
Balazs Rozsa, Femtonics, Hungary
Yasaman Soudagar, Neurescence, Canada