Imaging Systems and Applications

26 - 29 June 2017
Hyatt Regency San Francisco, San Francisco, California United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Imaging Systems and Applications Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 6 June 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 27 March 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 27 March 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 17 June 2017
Register for the Meeting By 25 May 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 26 June - 29 June 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Christopher Dainty, FotoNation, Ireland
Dale Linne von Berg, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States

Program Chair

Matthew Arnison, Canon Info Sys Research Australia, Australia
Michael Groenert, US Army RDECOM CERDEC, United States


Kenneth Barnard, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States
Peter Catrysse, Stanford University, United States
Joyce Farrell, Stanford University, United States
Alex Forsythe, Acad of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, United States
Boyd Fowler, Omnivision Technologies, United States
Ginni Grover, University of Colorado Boulder, United States
Francisco Imai, Apple Inc., United States
Kristina Irsch, Johns Hopkins University, United States
Chulmin Joo, Yonsei University, South Korea
Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea
Ofer Levi, University of Toronto, Canada
Lingfei Meng, Mura, United States
Rajesh Menon, University of Utah, United States
Lise Randeberg, Norges Teknisk Naturvitenskapelige Univ, Norway
Maitreyee Roy, University of New South Wales, Australia
Todd Sachs, Apple Inc., United States
Torbjorn Skauli, Norwegian Defense Research Establishment, Norway
Ivana Tosic, Ricoh Innovations, Inc., United States
Jay Vizgaitis, optX imaging systems, United States
Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, United States
Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel