Computational  Optical Sensing and Imaging

26 - 29 June 2017
Hyatt Regency San Francisco, San Francisco, California United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Computational  Optical Sensing and Imaging Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 28 February 2017, 12:00 EST (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 27 March 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 27 March 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 17 June 2017
Register for the Meeting By 25 May 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 26 June - 29 June 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Marc Christensen, Southern Methodist University, United States
Ram Narayanswamy, Occipital, United States
Lars Omlor, Carl Zeiss AG, Germany
Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Program Chair

Rajesh Menon, University of Utah, United States
Abbie Watnik, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States


Tatiana Alieva, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Amit Ashok, The University of Arizona, United States
Oliver Cossairt, Northwestern University, United States
Jason Fleischer, Princeton University, United States
Joseph Ford, University of California San Diego, United States
Michael Gehm, Duke University, United States
David Gerwe, Boeing - Phantomworks, United States
Andrew Harvey, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Ori Katz, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Kedar Khare, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
Edmund Lam, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Joseph Mait, US Army Research Laboratory, United States
Vicente Mico, Universidad de Valencia, Spain
Aydogan Ozcan, University of California Los Angeles, United States
Sri Rama Prasanna Pavani, Exnodes Inc., United States
Chrysanthe Preza, University of Memphis, United States
Prasanna Rangarajan, Southern Methodist University, United States
Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, United States
Gordon Wetzstein, Stanford University, United States