Signal Processing in Photonics Communications

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Signal Processing in Photonics Communications Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 18 November 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 June 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Andrea Carena, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Darko Zibar, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Program Chair

Chigo Okonkwo, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Timo Pfau, Acacia Communications, Inc., United States


Xi Chen, Nokia Bell Labs, United States
Roger Giddings, Bangor University, United Kingdom
Neil Gonzalez, National University of Colombia, Colombia
David Hillerkuss, Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH, Germany
Koji Igarashi, Osaka University, Japan
Alan Pak Tao Lau, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Fabio PittalĂ , Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH, Germany
Jacklyn Reis, BrPHOTONICS, Brazil
Yi Weng, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, United States
Kenneth Kin-Yip Wong, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Henk Wymeersch, Chalmers Tekniska Hogskola, Sweden
Yang Yue, Juniper Networks, United States
Qunbi Zhuge, Ciena Corporation, Canada