Photonics in Switching

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Photonics in Switching Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 18 November 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 January 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Dan Marom, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
Clint Schow, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
Hiroyuki Tsuda, Keio University, Japan

Program Chairs
Giampiero Contestabile, Scuola Superiore Sant Anna di Pisa, Italy
Hiroaki Harai, National Inst of Information & Comm Tech, Japan
Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, McGill University, Canada


Optical Switching Technology & Devices
Giampiero Contestabile, Scuola Superiore Sant Anna di Pisa, Italy, Subcommittee Chair
Nicola Calabretta, Technical University of Eindhoven, Netherlands
Isabella Cerutti, Nokia Italia, Italy
Guilhem de Valicourt, Bell Laboratories – Nokia, USA
Akihiro Maruta, Osaka University, Japan
Francesca Parmigiani, University of Southampton, UK
Luca Potì, CNIT, Italy
Katsuyuki Utaka, Waseda University, Japan
Xuelin Yang, Jiao Tong University, China
Yuki Yoshida, NICT, Japan 
Yu Yu, Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics, China

Optical Switching Functions & Building Blocks
Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, McGill University, Canada, Subcommittee Chair
Antonella Bogoni, CNIT Pisa, Italy
Maurizio Burla, ETH, Switzerland
José Capmany, University Valencia, Spain
Gabriella Cincotti, University of Roma, Italy
Nicolas Dupuis, IBM TJ Watson, USA
Guifang Li, CREOL, USA
Yoshiaki Nakano, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Robert Norwood, University of Arizona, USA
Hiroyuki Uenohara, Tokyo Institute University, Japan
Kenneth K.Y. Wong, University of Hong Kong, China
John Xiupu Zhang, Concordia, Canada

Optical Networks & Systems
Hiroaki Harai, National Inst of Information & Comm Tech, Japan, Subcommittee Chair
Filippo Cugini, CNIT, Italy
Rudra Dutta, North Carolina State University, USA
Roberto Proietti, University of California, Davis, USA
Weiqiang Sun, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Hideki Tode, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Anna Tzanakaki, University of Athens, Greece
Xi Wang, Fujitsu Labs of America, USA
Lena Wosinska, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden