Photonic Networks and Devices

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Photonic Networks and Devices Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 18 November 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 June 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Nicolas Fontaine, Nokia Corporation, United States
Marija Furdek, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Program Chair

Madeleine Glick, The University of Arizona, United States
Werner Klaus, National Inst of Information & Comm Tech, Japan
Dan Marom, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel


Data Centers, Cloud Computing and Software-defined Networking
Yuval Bachar, LinkedIn, USA
Davide Careglio, Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Paolo Costa, Microsoft Research, UK
Hai Feng Liu, Intel, USA
Reza Nejabati, University of Bristol, UK
Wenda Ni, Viscore Technologies Inc., Canada

Network Design, Operations and High-capacity Transmission Systems
Wolfgang Freude, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
George Rouskas, North Carolina State University, USA
Gangxiang Shen, Soochow University, China
Elaine Wong, University of Melbourne, Australia
Xiaoxia Wu, Juniper, USA

Space Division Multiplexed and Multi-dimensional Devices, Systems and Networks
Joel Carpenter, University of Queensland, Australia
Sognian Fu, HUST, Wuhan, China
Tetsuya Hayashi, Sumitomo Electric Industries Ltd., Japan
Koji Igarashi, Osaka University, Japan
Yongmin Jung, Optical Research Center Southampton, UK
Sophie LaRochelle, University of Laval, Canada
Jun Sakaguchi, National Inst of Information & Comm Tech, Japan
Pierre Sillard, Prysmian Group, France