Resources: Committee Chairs

Optical Sensors

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optical Sensors Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 18 November 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 June 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions

Ken Ewing, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Mario F.S. Ferreira, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Paul Pellegrino, US Army Research Laboratory, USA


THz Sensing
Hou-Tong Chen, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Willie Padilla, Duke University, USA

Optical Fiber Sensors
Gilberto Brambilla, Univ. of Southampton, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Christophe Caucheteur, University of Mons, Belgium
Jose Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Univ. of Cantabria, Spain
Janet Lou, NRL, USA
Anna Grazia Mignani, CNR, Italy
Tong Sun, City University, UK
Libo Yuan, Harbin Engineering University, China

Laser Based Sensors
Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, Korea, Subcommittee Chair
Peter Dragic, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Christian Grillet, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Peter Horak, University of Southampton, UK
Kwang Jo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea
Peter Vasil’ev, University of Cambridge, UK

Optical Chemical and Biological Sensors
Paul M Pellegrino, US Army Research Laboratory, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Brain Cullum, University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA
Ellen L. Holthoff, US Army Research Laboratory, USA
Srikanth Singamaneni, Washington University, USA

Micro- and Nano- Engineered Sensors
Mikhail (Misha) Sumetsky, Aston University, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Vasily Astratov, University of North Carolina Charlotte, USA
Andrei Fotiadi, University of Mons, Belgium
Chengbo Mou, Shanghai University, China
Xuewen Shu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Limin Tong, Zhejiang University Hangzhou, China
David Webb, Aston University, UK

Nanophotonic and Plasmonic Biosensors,
Björn Reinhard, Boston University, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Svetlana Boriskina, MIT, USA
Xi Ling, Boston University, USA