Resources: Committee Chair

Optical Sensors

18 - 20 July 2016
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia Canada

Resources: Committee Chair

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Optical Sensors Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 11/12/2015
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 April 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Online Program Planner Available
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 14 April 2016
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent
Hotel Reservation By 28 June 2016
Register for the Meeting By 20 June 2016
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 18 July - 20 July 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Ken Ewing, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Mario F.S. Ferreira, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal

Program Committee

THz sensing
Albert Redo-Sanchez, MIT, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Enrique Castro-Camus, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica A.C., Mexico
Optical Fiber Sensors
Gilberto Brambilla, University of Southampton, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Jacques Albert, Carleton University, Canada
Tong Sun, City University, UK
Jose-Miguel Lopez-Higuera, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain
Libo Yuan, Harbin Engineering University, China
Wei Jin, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Janet Lou, Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), USA
Laser Based Sensors
Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, Korea, Subcommittee Chair
Peter Dragic, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Christian Grillet, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Peter Horak, ORC, University of Southampton, UK
Peter Vasil’ev, University of Cambridge, UK
Kwang Jo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea
Optical Chemical and Biological Sensors

Paul Pellegrino, US Army Research Laboratory, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Kiki Ikossi Anastasiou, Defense Threat Reduction Agency, United States
Brian Cullum, University of Maryland Baltimore County, United States
Anish Goyal, Massachusetts Inst of Tech Lincoln Lab, United States
Ellen Holthoff, US Army Research Laboratory, United States
Alan Samuels, Army ECBC, United States
Srikanth Singamaneni, Washington University in St. Louis, United States
Charles Wynn, Massachusetts Inst of Tech Lincoln Lab, United States

Micro- and Nano-Engineered Sensors

Mikhail (Misha) Sumetsky, Aston University, UK, Subcommittee Chair
Vasily N. Astratov, UNC Charlotte, USA
Andrei A. Fotiadi, University of Mons, Belgium
Chengbo Mou, Key Laboratory of Specialty Fibre Optics and Optical Access Network, Shanghai University, China
Limin Tong, Zhejiang University, China
David Webb, Aston University, UK

Nanophotonic and Plasmonic Biosensors

Björn Reinhard, Boston University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Svetlana Boriskina, MIT, United States
Lawrence Ziegler, Boston University, United States
Kimberley Hamad Schifferli, University of Massachussetts, United States