Novel Optical Materials and Applications

24 - 27 July 2017
Astor Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana United States

Resources: Committee Chairs

The Technical Program Chairs are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours raising funds to support the event, securing invited speakers, reaching out to colleagues to encourage submissions, reviewing papers, and scheduling sessions.

On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the Chairs of the Novel Optical Materials and Applications Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens Week of 18 November 2016
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 20 April 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Mid April 2017
Program Committee Decisions
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 8 May 2017
Online Program Planner Available Week of 8 May 2017
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 5 July 2017, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Mid July 2017
Hotel Reservation By 3 July 2017
Register for the Meeting By 22 June 2017
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 14 July 2017
Prepare to Present at the Meeting
Present at the Meeting 24 July - 27 July 2017

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to Preside
  • Contribute to Welcome remarks for Opening Ceremonies
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Involve committee members in the selection of invited speakers
  • Apply for grants and request corporate contributions at least 9 months before your meeting.
  • Contact your collocated meeting chairs to discuss joint sessions.
  • Use SharePoint to distribute documents to your committee members. 
  • Presiding over the Technical Program Committee
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Promote the meeting to solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Selecting and confirming Committee Members
  • Selecting and confirming Invited Speakers
  • Selecting and confirming a  Local Organizing Committee to assist in extra activities at meeting such as laboratory tours, additional networking events, etc. , if necessary
  • Providing complete contact information of committee members and invited speakers to OSA
  • Preparing the technical scope and topics for meeting
  • Encourage committee members to complete their reviews by deadline.
  • Encourage committee to select and confirm Presiders for all technical sessions.
  • Soliciting funds from granting agencies and corporate contributions for meeting support and travel support for selected participants.  
  • Reviewing and determining acceptance for postdeadline papers
  • Attend the meeting and participate at on-site meeting and wrap-up committee meeting.


All documents listed below are located in the Reference Center, under Policy and Procedures on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions


Ishwar Aggarwal, Univ of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Lynda Busse, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States


Craig Arnold, Princeton University, United States
Shyam Bayya, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Svetlana Boriskina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Debashis Chanda, University of Central Florida, United States
Ertugrul Cubukcu, University of California San Diego, United States
Stephen Foulger, Clemson University, United States
Shekhar Guha, US Air Force Research Laboratory, United States
Roman Holovchak, Austin Peay State University, United States
Juejun Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Mikhail Kats, University of Wisconsin-Madison, United States
Garo Khanarian, BASF, United States
Ho Wai Lee, Baylor University, United States
Woei Ming Lee, The Australian National University, Australia
Efrat Lifshitz, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Yongmin Liu, Northeastern University, United States
Tony Low, University of Minnesota Twin Cities, United States
Arka Majumdar, University of Washington, United States
Jason Myers, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Sedat Nizamoglu, Koc University, Turkey
Dario Pisignano, Universita del Salento, Italy
Angela Seddon, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Brandon Shaw, US Naval Research Laboratory, United States
Franky So, North Carolina State University,
Fengnian Xia, Yale University, United States
Seok-Hyun Yun, Harvard Medical School, United States
Kevin Zawilski, BAE Systems , United States
Chenglong Zhao, University of Dayton,
Wenqi Zhu, NIST, United States