Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon, and Nano-Photonics

18 - 20 July 2016
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia Canada

Resources: Committees

The Technical Program Committee Members are integral to the success of the meeting. As a volunteer you dedicate countless hours contacting colleagues to encourage submissions and reviewing papers. On behalf of OSA, its Board, and its entire staff, we extend enormous gratitude to the members of the Integrated Photonics Research, Silicon, and Nano-Photonics Technical Program Committee.

Call for Papers Opens 15 November 2015
Abstract and Summary Submissions Due 14 April 2016, 12:00 EDT (Convert Time)
Peer Review Early April 2016
Program Committee Decisions Week of 18 April
Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 2 May 2016
Online Program Planner Available Week of 2 May 2016
Eligible Students: Apply for a Student Travel Grant 14 April 2016
Postdeadline Abstract and Summary Submissions Due Invalid date time. (Convert Time)
Postdeadline Paper Notifications Sent Early July 2016
Hotel Reservation By 28 June 2016
Register for the Meeting By 20 June 2016
Postdeadline Authors Notified of Committee Decisions Week of 7 July 2016
Prepare to Present at the Meeting Early July 2016
Present at the Meeting 18 July - 20 July 2016

How to be Effective

  • Volunteer to preside
  • Assist during invitation process
  • Score all papers (excluding conflicts)
  • Volunteer to blog
  • Promote meeting
  • Encourage your peers to complete a submission for the meeting.
  • Mark your calendar and save dedicated time for the paper review process.  
  • To promote the meeting, solicit and encourage contributed papers
  • Suggest candidates for invited speakers
  • Support and adhere to meeting deadlines
  • Review and score submissions to help determine which submissions should be accepted for presentation
  • Support chairs’ effort to solicit funds from granting agencies and corporations.
  • Attend the meeting and participate in on-site wrap-up meetings


All documents listed below are located in the Resource Center on Sharepoint.

  • Chairs’ Manual
  • Fundraising Grant Information
  • Exhibit and Sponsorship Information
  • Peer Review Instructions
  • Scheduling Instructions
General Chairs
Nadir Dagli, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
Andrea Melloni, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Program Chairs
Milan Mashanovitch, Freedom Photonics, United States
David Moss, University of Sydney, Australia

Photonic Device Program Committee

Yoshiaki Nakano, University of Tokyo, Japan, Subcommittee Chair
Tomohiro Amemiya, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Andreas Beling, University of Virginia, USA
Joseph Summers, Infinera, USA
Koji Takeda, NTT Photonics Lab., Japan
Ken Tanizawa, AIST, Japan
Anna Tauke-Pedretti, Sandia, USA
Dries van Thourhout, University of Ghen/IMEC, Belgium
Kevin Williams, TuE, Netherlands
Meredith Hutchinson, Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Integrated Photonics Applications Program Committee
Jonathan Klamkin, UCSB, USA, Subcommittee Chair
Nicola Andriolli, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Italy
Daoxin Dai, Zhejiang University, China
Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory, USA
Katarzyna Lawnicuk, Jeppix/TuE, Netherlands
Jong-Moo Lee, ETRI, Korea
Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, McGill University, Canada
Anand Ramaswamy, Aurrion, USA
Mitsuru Takenaka, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan

Integrated High Precision Photonics Program Committee
Marco Peccianti, Sussex University, United Kingdom, Subcommittee Chair
Andrea Armani, University of Southern California, United States
Matteo Clerici, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Pascal Del'Haye, National Physics Laboratory, United Kingdom
Miro Erkintalo, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Kaoru Minoshima, The University of Electro-Communications (UEC), Japan
Alessia Pasquazi, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Peter Rakich, Yale University, United States
Peter Smith, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Stefan Wabnitz, University of Brescia, Italy
Emerging Materials for Photonic Devices Program Committee

Volker Sorger, George Washington University, United States, Subcommittee Chair
Boubacar Kante, University of California, San Diego, USA
Juejun Hu, MIT, USA
Joseph Tischler, NRL, USA
Tony Low, University of Minnesota, USA